a verse to think about

This verse has been on my mind since I read it Tuesday afternoon…

1 Corinthians 2:5 

“…so that your faith might not rest on men’s wisdom, but on God’s power.”

It’s been making me think about what my faith rests on.  And it’s been making me ask some tough questions of myself…

Do I rely on what other people tell me about myself rather than what God tells me about me?

Do I look for the solution to my problems in self-help books rather than in God’s word?

Am I believing the lies of society rather than standing on the promises of God in the bible?

Am I looking for hope in temporary things rather than in eternal things?

 

At times I’m sorry to say that the answer to these questions is yes.  I look for affirmation from people instead of trying to see me as God sees me.  I think that I can fix my own issues by reading another book.  I try to satisfy the longings in my heart by buying more stuff, instead of seeking God and waiting on Him to provide what I need.  I hope for kids that are well-behaved in front of other people rather than hoping for kids who know and love God.  Sometimes I get distracted.

I am a firm believer that God speaks to us through His word and I think God’s speaking.  He knows I need the nudging of the Holy Spirit to get me back on the right track sometimes.  I truly desire that my faith rest not on things of this world, but on the creator of this world and His unlimited power.

How is God speaking to you this week?

One thought on “a verse to think about

  1. Nicole K

    Wow, how true your writing is, I often find myself doing the very same things. Thank you for sharing and reminding me to look to the Lord and to listen to Him.

Leave a comment