h and g, hi and goodbye

(by the way, anyone know what movie that’s from??)

Today I feel like the most horrible person. 

We adopted a dog from the local shelter two weeks ago.  And today we took him back.

It’s always meant a lot to me to adopt dogs from shelters rather than buy them.  To give a loving home to those poor doggies no one wants.  To save them from you-know-what.

Ugh.

Here’s a photo of Buddy… who really is a sweetie.

Buddy

Buddy

 

I could have lived with the occasional accident in the house.

I could have lived with the paws on the counter or table.

I could have lived with the chewing of things.

Those are things we could have worked on.

But he growled and yipped at my kiddos one too many times.  He didn’t like them near his bed when he was resting.  I wasn’t sure I could trust him. 

And that’s not a good feeling.  So we took him back.

And now I just feel bad.  Giving a dog up just goes against my grain!!  But I am hoping he’ll find a home where he’ll be happy with either no kids or teenagers.  

So lay it on me… am I a mean&terrible animal hater or did I do the right thing?  What do you think?

6 thoughts on “h and g, hi and goodbye

  1. If he had bit one of your babies, you would not be debating this… I think you did the right thing, Steph. And, if Buddy really is as much of a sweetie as you say he is, I’m sure that someone else will snatch him up from the shelter in no time. 🙂

  2. Heck no, batman! Growling dogs are unsafe. Melissa was right. If he bit your kiddos, you wouldn’t be asking. Buddy’s an animal. Not a person. You can reason with a person who’s growly, but not so much with an abandoned, possibly abused animal.

    And if he’s that sweet, he wouldn’t want you to feel guilty. He’d totally understand.

  3. ughhh…the movie is right on the tip of my tongue and driving me crazy that i can’t think of it. i’ll probably remember tonight while i’m trying to fall asleep.

    i think you did the right thing. although i know it must be very, very hard. but we like those debo kiddos with all their fingers & toes attached. better to be safe than sorry is what they say, right?

  4. I am sad to say I know this… Sleepless in Seattle.

    Wouldn’t this have been funnier if I said my name was Mr. Mysterioso?

    I didn’t want to embarass my wife.

Leave a Reply

