Why I stick with Trim Healthy Mama, and bonus Coffee Cake Muffin in a Mug (THM {S}) recipe!

I have been maintaining my weight loss for almost three years now.

Sometimes, though, I still have people who wonder why I am still eating the way I am (which apparently seems weird to them!)

😉

I am still sticking with Trim Healthy Mama, and here’s why:

  1. I believe the balanced view of eating carbs (less carbs and only carbs that have less effect on blood glucose) is good for my diabetes.
  2. I feel better.  More energetic, less depressed.
  3. I continue to be satisfied with what I’m eating.  No sugar cravings.  I used to feel like I was controlled by food.  No longer.
  4. No counting calories.  Although I’ve lost weight previously counting calories, it was tedious and time-consuming.
  5. I have been able to maintain my weight without even thinking about it.  Prior to THM, not thinking about food (i.e. not counting calories) meant weight gain.
  6. I believe the healthy foods I’ve added to my diet due to THM will prolong my life (can you say okra, collagen, coconut oil, etc). Things I’d never even considered before!

Just lately I started re-reading the original Trim Healthy Mama book, and also experimenting with some new recipe creations.  I’m gonna share one with you today.

This is inspired by a recipe I’d found on the internet when I originally started THM. I loved it, pinned it, and went on my merry way.  And then tragedy struck – the blog from which it originated shut down and **poof**, one of my favorite recipes disappeared!

(PSA – print out or save those internet recipes you love in some way to prevent this from happening!)

So here’s my own version:

Coffee Cake in A Mug – THM {S}

Batter:

1 large egg

1 T water

1 T nonfat plain greek yogurt

1 tsp coconut oil, melted

splash of vanilla

3 T THM baking blend

1/2 T Truvia

1/2 tsp baking powder

Crumb Topping:

1 T THM baking blend

1/2 T Truvia

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 T butter, softened

To prepare:  Spray a large mug with coconut oil spray.  Combine all batter ingredients in the mug, mixing well.  In another small bowl, mix the dry topping ingredients together.  Then, using a fork, mix in the softened butter until small crumbs form.  Pour on top of batter in mug.

Microwave for approximately 1 minute 20 seconds.  (some microwaves may require more or less time depending upon wattage)

I didn’t make a nutrition label for this one- but it is very surely within the guidelines for a THM {S} food (less than 10 g net carbs).  For those of you not familiar with Trim Healthy Mama, this is a low-carb, gluten-free, sugar-free recipe.  Click here if you want to know more about Trim Healthy Mama or buy some of the baking blend.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Why I stick with Trim Healthy Mama, and bonus Coffee Cake Muffin in a Mug (THM {S}) recipe!

Leave a comment