What am I seeking?

What do you most often ask for when you are praying?

Very often I ask God for His direction.  To tell me what to do.  

I ask Him for His peace, His wisdom, His strength, His protection, His provision.

I don’t know why this question or thought came into my head, but it occurred to me recently that maybe I’m not seeking the BEST things when I pray.

So often I’m asking for things God can give me.  Not just asking for Him.

Now don’t misunderstand me, I don’t think it’s a bad or wrong thing to ask God for specific things.  In fact I think the Bible is clear that we should be in prayer about all things.

But God impressed upon me the thought that my prayers need to have the first priority of seeking relationship with Him.

I did a quick search of my bible.  Most of the verses I found with the word “seek” in them talk about seeking God himself, not His direction, peace, wisdom, strength, or any other thing we might want from Him.  WOW!  It was like a light bulb went on for me.

Suddenly Matthew 6:33 looked new as I thought about it from a different perspective – specifically the perspective of how I approach prayer and how I prepare my heart for prayer.  “Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.”

I’m so thankful for God’s divine whispers to me.

What has God been whispering to you?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

