51

One day this past week I decided to keep track of how many times I think about my blood glucose level.

I was curious about how much of my brain power / time / energy that managing my diabetes takes on a daily basis.

51.

FIFTY-ONE!!!

And this was on a day when my blood glucose levels were actually pretty stable – no wild swings, no shake-inducing lows or nausea-inducing highs.  When that happens, I’m pretty sure the number would be higher than 51.

I knew the number would be significant – I mean, why else would I be curious enough to count the actual number? – but the total kind of surprised me.  Considering I sleep about 7 hours a night – that is three times every hour that I’m thinking about diabetes while I’m awake!!

I have had diabetes for so long (going on 34 years) that it has become second nature to me – analyzing the highs and lows, figuring out how much insulin I need, etc.  But to really see how often I think about it is amazing.  This disease really does take a lot of time and energy to manage.

Considering that, I think I’m just gonna cut myself some slack next time I forget something.  Ha!

 

 

Leave a Reply

