An update.

So.

It’s been a while, eh?

Even as I sit here staring at the keyboard, I’m not sure I have words to type.  I have wondered over the last 15 months if I would blog again.  LOL- I’m still not sure.

Life kind of knocked the wind out of me in 2014, and it has taken me a lot of time to catch my breath.

2014 in a nutshell: besides all the usual goings on of a family of five, the biggies were that I got a part-time job, my son was (mostly) diagnosed with celiac disease, same child transitioned from private elementary to public middle school, and I started eating a whole new way.

Ha.  Not so bad, I guess, looking at it in hindsight.  But these were huge changes for us and, well, overall I’m not sure I like change.

As an overview – the part-time job is good.  Home-based and flexible, which is just what I needed.  It calls upon a bit of my knowledge from my past career life – and it’s nice to have a bit of extra spending money.  But it was a change after having been primarily a stay-at-home mom for 10 years.  There is a balance that needs to be found – especially when the kids are off school.

The celiac disease will probably need to be a whole post on it’s own.  Long un-diagnosis story, unsatisfying ending, but my kiddo is feeling a lot better now on a gluten-free diet, and that’s what really matters.

The middle school transition for my son who likes change even less than me?  Well, let’s just say God took care of it in a big way – and I’ll leave it at that.

And last – a whole new way of eating – Trim Healthy Mama.  I started hearing about it early in 2014 from a friend and began making changes to my diet in April 2014.  One of the biggest motivators for me was that we had just started a gluten-free diet for my son and since that was completely changing what I was buying, cooking, and baking – I figured I might as well change what I was eating, too.  I have been eating the Trim Healthy Mama way now for over a year and I love it.  I feel better, my diabetes is better controlled, I’ve lost 30 pounds, and I am totally satisfied.  That’s a huge success.  I have tons to say about this but I’ll leave it for another post!

So I finally am feeling like the huge transitions have subsided and we are at an equilibrium again.  As I sat in church this weekend, we sang the song “Anchor” from Hillsong Live:

I have this hope
As an anchor for my soul
Through every storm
I will hold to You

With endless love
All my fear is swept away
In everything
I will trust in You

There is hope in the promise of the cross
You gave everything to save the world You love
And this hope is an anchor for my soul
Our God will stand
Unshakeable

Unchanging One
You who was and is to come
Your promise sure
You will not let go

Your Name is higher
Your Name is greater
All my hope is in You

Your word unfailing
Your promise unshaken
All my hope is in You

I just stood there as we sang, and I felt so incredibly thankful for God and His unchanging nature.  He has been an anchor for my soul in this year of huge changes.
Life throws so much at us!  If you’re in the middle of changes – hold on to God.  He is worthy of our hope and trust.

 

3 thoughts on “An update.

  1. Hello, Stephanie–I stumbled onto your blog recently, only it was an old post–February 28, 2011, “The Mess that is Perfection.” I marveled at how much your experience mirrored my own, so I wrote a comment, but when I tried to post it, a message appeared saying that the comment couldn’t be registered. So while my comment has nothing to do with this post, I thought I would put it here! Having read this post, I realize that with your very busy life you may not have time to read my lengthy comment! But for what it’s worth, here it is:

    This post is quite old, but I happened on it while I was preparing for a Bible study, and I felt compelled to respond, not because I have all the answers, but because I identified entirely with what you were experiencing at the time you wrote it. I haven’t read your posts between now and then, so you may have found the answer to your questions, but I would like to recommend a couple of books that have answered so many of my questions. The answer, I believe, is in the Gospel and the “it is finished” of Christ’s work on the cross.

    Jesus is the author and finisher of our faith. We don’t have much trouble believing that He is the author of our faith, but we do have much trouble believing that he is the finisher of our faith. It’s all about the Gospel of grace–that word we are so familiar with when we have grown up in the church but which we really do not fully understand. At least this was my experience. I was raised in a Christian home, went to Bible School after high school and learned a great deal about the Bible. But I thought that my sanctification was up to me. I had no idea how weak my flesh is and how impossible it is for me to keep my own “laws”, never mind God’s laws. I learned that I needed to go deeper into the Gospel, understanding that not only had my sins been forgiven but that I was given the righteousness of Christ. My sin for His righteousness (2 Cor. 5:21). Luther called it the great exchange. I can only give a taste here of what I have been learning, but I’d love to continue a dialogue with you.

    When you said that reading “Be ye perfect” (Mt. 5:48) made you feel failure, disappointment, and guilt, I have learned that that is exactly what Christ wanted his listeners to feel. Prior to that, he said that they couldn’t enter the kingdom of heaven unless their righteousness exceeded the righteousness of the Pharisees. He continued by saying that Moses’ law said, “Thou shalt not murder,” but that being angry without cause with another would make them guilty of murder. Moses’ law said not to commit adultery, but Jesus said that anyone who lusted after a woman in his heart was guilty of adultery. He capped it all by saying, “Be ye perfect as your father in heaven is perfect.” He wanted them to come to the place where they gave up all hope in themselves. He wanted to raise the bar of the law so high that they realized the impossibility of their ever achieving it on their own merits He was showing them their need of a Savior.

    What we fail to see is that we are no more capable of living the Christian life on our own than we are of saving ourselves. Our sanctification is Christ’s project. “He who began a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ.” “It is God who works in you to will and to do His good pleasure.” Just look up “sanctified” in a concordance of the New Testament and notice how it is the work of the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit.

    I have gone on long enough. So much more I’d love to share with you about what it has taken me so long to understand. Interestingly, I have been teaching on this very subject at our church, and I used your blog post to open the discussion last night. I asked the ladies, “Is the problem that this woman is dealing with a common one?” They all said, “Yes!” Satan would love us to believe that everyone else is having such a wonderful time in her Christian life, experiencing victory after victory and perfect peace and rest. It’s not true. We’re all struggling until we learn to rest in the One who lived the perfect life FOR us, died FOR us, was resurrected, glorified, and is now interceding FOR us.

    Here are a couple of books I have read There are so many being written on the Gospel of grace now that it makes me think that the Holy Spirit is moving us toward another Reformation–away from our works and toward a complete faith in Christ.

    The Rest of the Gospel by Dan Stone and David Gregory
    Extravagant Grace by Barbara Duguid

    I hope you aren’t offended by my very long comment! I do not have all the answers, but I felt I just had to let you know that you are not alone. My struggle went on for about 15 years before I came to see where I was missing it.

    God bless you, Stephanie. I know that God is working deeply in your heart.

    Kathy Falk

  2. Hi Kathy! Thank you so much for your comment – I appreciate your thoughts. I definitely still struggle with this although I do think God has worked so much in my heart and mind since I wrote that post. One of the ways He has worked in me is through reading the book “Good News for Those Trying Harder” by Alan Kraft. I will also check out the books you’ve recommended because I know there is still work God needs to do in me over this issue!! Thank you for sharing. I haven’t blogged much over the last year but feel God is calling me back to it – so I hope you’ll visit again!

Leave a Reply

