Prayer: Not a Last Resort!

DUH, right?

About a month ago I stood in a small room as my son was getting his blood drawn.  He was anxious.  Defiant, but quietly, as is his pattern in public.  But there was no more I could do to help him through it.

All I had left was prayer over the situation.  And as I lifted up some prayers, I realized.

My typical operating mode in day-to-day life is to look at prayer as a last resort.

In my head, I know it shouldn’t be.  And I do (nearly daily) have some prayer time set aside in the mornings.  But I had gotten to the point where I prayed, checked that off my to-do list, and then slipped into the rest of my day focused on what I had planned for the day.  And only when I got myself in a situation where I felt like there was nothing else I could do about it was I prompted to pray.

I had forgotten 1 Thessalonians 5:17 – “pray continually.”

Do you ever find yourself praying only as a last resort?

I just know God was whispering to me in that moment – “don’t rely on your own ability.   Rely on me.”  And the lesson is that I need to rely on Him even when I feel capable!!!

So my goal in the immediate future – pray continually (and especially in the many mundane moments of the day), and get in the habit of relying on Him alone, always.

So I’ll leave you with this – a quote I heard on the radio early this year and which hasn’t left me.  (Forgive me, I’ll have to paraphrase and I don’t remember who said it!  If I find out, I’ll let you know!)

“In order to fully follow God, we need to give up the thought that we know anything.”

One thought on “Prayer: Not a Last Resort!

Leave a Reply

