Tips for Reviving Your Prayer Life

Just over a year ago, I wrote this post.  

At the time, I was struggling with being consistent in prayer and also with remaining focused in prayer.  

And because I knew that God had given me three special gifts – that can also be distractions – I knew that He certainly had an answer for me as to how to have a vibrant prayer life even in the midst of mothering.  

As I mentioned in that post, I tried writing out my prayers in a journal.  It was just what I needed.  I also contrived to have my prayer time whilst my three distractions were distracted themselves (which during the summer meant morning cartoons).  I would go out to my screened-in porch, drink in the morning air and my coffee, and begin to write.  

Journaling my prayers has stuck with me since then.  I do love looking back, remembering what I was praying about, and then realizing that God answered prayers – and in sometimes really unexpected ways.  The discipline of writing the prayers down also gave me better focus.

I thought today I’d share a few ideas about prayer that I’ve used over the years to keep my prayer life from wilting .

  1. Journaling my prayers – enough said!
  2. Changing the scenery.  Try praying in a new place – a different room, in the car, outdoors, in the shower.  
  3. Pray while walking.  I have also been trying to walk at a local park three times a week after I drop my kids off at school.  While I walk, I pray.  Something about the early morning, being outdoors, and movement has made these prayer times really powerful.
  4. Change the time.  You’ve probably heard plenty of times to get up before your kids to pray.  But the reality is that for some people, and for some seasons in life, this is nearly impossible.  When my oldest two were preschoolers I was always amazed that they would sleep through my husband getting up and getting ready for work – but if I tried to get up before them?  forget it – somehow they sensed it and they’d be up bouncing around as soon as I got out of bed.  So my advice is don’t get stuck in thinking it has to be a certain way.  Do it when it works for you.  And when it stops working, try something different.  Now that my kids are in school, I am able to get up before them to pray.  
  5. Pray when the Holy Spirit prompts you.  Don’t have 5 minutes alone during the day?  That’s ok – God will still hear one prayer at a time.  One word, one sentence prayed in the middle of your daily tasks works.  
  6. Memorize a prayer or a verse from the Bible and pray it (or write it on a 3×5 card and stick it on your fridge).

I want to hear from you!  How do you keep your prayer life consistent and fresh?  Do you have any tips or ideas you would add to the list?

Leave a Reply

