Learning to Trust

ah, this life of faith, this walking with Jesus…

for me it always comes down to learning each day how to trust Him a little more.

Have you ever been in a situation where you clearly hear God telling you to do something, you obey, and you don’t get the result you wanted or expected?  Maybe you get a “no” when you were thinking you’d get a “yes”.  Maybe a door closed instead of opened.

I had recent experience with this.  I was in a situation where I was very prayerful about each step I was taking.  I heard God and I obeyed.  And I got “no”s.  Twice.

And just about this time I started putting my hands on my hips (ok, just figuratively) and asking God what He was doing.  Why would he have me do that if he knew it wasn’t going to work?  Did I not hear Him correctly?  Surely it would have been easier and better to do it a different way, God!

As I was telling God just what I thought of His plan (yes, I have some control issues), He gently reminded me of another situation that had happened at the beginning of this year – and the lesson He taught me at that time.  Again I was in a situation where I felt I had obeyed but a door closed when I thought it would be opened.  At the same time, my son and I were doing some Bible reading together.  Part of Moses’ story –  in Exodus chapters 7 -11 if you want to check it out.  God sent Moses to Pharaoh to demand the release of the Israelites, not one, but eleven times.  Eleven times Moses obeyed, and eleven times Pharaoh refused!  When I read it with my son I had wondered if Moses ever questioned why God had him go to Pharaoh and ask each time, even when God told Him Pharaoh would refuse.  In other words, why do it – why go through all that- if it wasn’t going to work?

Sound familiar?

I love how God is so personal – reminding us of the very thing we need to hear right when we need to hear it!!

This story has given me the gift of perspective in both situations, and I’m sure many more to come.  There is no reason to be disappointed when things don’t go the way I think they should – because God always has a better plan and in the midst of His plan rolling out, His glory can be displayed!

Exodus 11:9, …so that my wonders will be multiplied…”

I trust God.  I trust that His plans are better.  I trust that He can use what looks like a bump in the road or the end of a road to display His glory in some way.

In this latest situation, I had to get two “no”s before I got a “yes”.  And the “yes” was a good one.  A perfect one!

Why did He make me go through the “no”s?  Maybe it was for me to learn more how to trust.  Maybe it was for the others involved in some way.  I don’t know for sure and I may never know.

But He does, and that’s enough.

One thought on “Learning to Trust

  1. Pingback: Why “What Impact Am I Having?” is the wrong question. | Led By The Shepherd

Leave a Reply

