But, Jesus, I’ve only got…

Two of the kids had been arguing for at least a half hour over what to watch on TV.

The oldest had been arguing with me about why we didn’t have anything she liked for breakfast.  (mind you, we had no less than 7 breakfast choices, all of which were perfectly acceptable the day before.  But I digress…)

It was 8:30 in the morning and I was asking myself how I was going to make it through the day.

I don’t have ENOUGH.

Enough patience.

Enough quiet to complete a thought.

Enough creativity to figure out how to make these kids get along!

 

And so went the last couple of weeks of summer.

 

This past Sunday the sermon touched on Jesus feeding the five thousand.  And it made me think about the account in John’s gospel (John 6:1-15) where the small boy offered his 5 loaves and 2 fish.  Verses 8 and 9 read, “Another of his disciples, Andrew, Simon Peter’s brother, spoke up, “Here is a boy with five small barley loaves and two small fish, but how far will they go among so many?”

 

I often feel that way.

Lord, I’ve only got one ounce of patience left.

I’ve only got one minute left of hearing all this noise before I go crazy.

I feel like I’ve only got one volume to my voice left, and it’s not mute.

I can only listen to one child, I can only do one thing, at a time!

 

How far will that go among so many?  (I know many of you have MORE than 3 children, but to me, three is exactly “so many”.)

 

That small boy humbly offered to Jesus his 5 loaves and 2 fish.  Which in human terms were sorely lacking in terms of feeding upwards of five thousand people.  But miraculously, in the hands of Jesus, they all had enough to eat.

 

What mattered was not the amount the small boy had, but who he gave them to.  Jesus Christ.  The one who makes all things possible (Mark 10:27).

 

So instead of thinking “I’ve only got”…

I need to simply offer what I’ve got to Him.  He will make it enough.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

