Weakness (God’s Abundant Life, Part 3)

“God’s grace is sufficient for every weakness. When you come face to face with weakness, it is not the time to back down and surrender to feelings and emotions. That lack of trust is like saying to God, ‘I don’t think you’ll come through for me, so I’ll take matters into my own hands.’ Instead, bathe yourself in the Word of God. Memorize it. Go with what you know about the eternal God, not with how you feel at the moment. And ask him to give you his strength.” (Babbie Mason)

One of the things that’s been revealed to me in this year of learning about God’s abundant living is that in my weak areas, I have the perfect opportunity to experience God’s abundant living!

The big decisions in my life have generally been easy to turn over to God and follow Him.

I haven’t been so good about turning over the little things, though.

I think it’s because with the big things – I know I’m in over my head.  I naturally know I need his help to figure it out.  With the little things, though, it’s much easier to say to God, “I’ve got this.”

And so those little things have been the things I’ve struggled with the most.  For me, they’re things I’ve written about before – emotional eating and responding with less than God’s mercy and grace to my children when they are stomping on my very last nerve.

Because when I leave the little decisions up to me – I have a tendency to do what FEELS right at the moment.  In other words, I respond not in the way God would necessarily want me to, but instead what comes naturally.  Bad idea.

So I love that quote from Babbie Mason.  It’s a reminder to tap into God for even the little things – those areas I know are weaknesses.  And in doing so, I can see his grace and the abundant life he desires for me.

 

2 Corinthians 12:9

“But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”

 

Leave a Reply

