40

I turn 40 today!

And I can honestly say I am not upset about it.  (I think in my mind I’ve always been 40, I just needed my body to catch up.  HA.)

My husband and good friend Jessica planned not one, but two!, almost-surprise parties for me on Sunday.  How wonderful to be fully loved by so many amazing people.  First was a tea party at a local restaurant, filled with beautiful women who are some of my favorite people in the world.  Many of these ladies I have laughed, cried, and shared life with over several years.  God has provided these women to me to comfort me, pray with me, bring joy, and teach me.

Then the surprise continued with a party at home with more of my family and friends.

Again, I am so thankful for the people God has brought into my life over the years.  My husband and kids are precious.  I’m thankful for God’s presence with me (even when I didn’t notice it), his provision, and his protection.   Thankful that He has brought me this far and has granted me more days to do His work and bring Him glory.

 

So here’s a few quotes that either made me chuckle or felt fitting for today…

It takes about ten years to get used to how old you are. 

~Quoted by Raymond A. Michel in The Leaf

A man’s age is something impressive, it sums up his life:  maturity reached slowly and against many obstacles, illnesses cured, griefs and despairs overcome, and unconscious risks taken; maturity formed through so many desires, hopes, regrets, forgotten things, loves.  A man’s age represents a fine cargo of experiences and memories. 

~Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, Wartime Writings 1939-1944, translated from French by Norah Purcell

I’m not 40, I’m eighteen with 22 years experience. 

~Author Unknown

 

One thought on “40

Leave a Reply

