Rest

The end of the school year is almost here and it’s getting craaazy!

One of the things I wanted to do this year was to incorporate more listening time into my prayer time.  In other words, being quiet, waiting on, and listening to God.  Yesterday as I was doing that, this verse came to me:

Matthew 11:28 (NASB)

“Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest.

And then this thought (which was the revelation for me, since for goodness sake, I’ve heard that verse a thousand times!!) – God doesn’t give me a to-do list when I come to Him, He gives me rest.  He isn’t expecting me to check things off {my} list, or His list for that matter.  He wants to give me rest.  I have to confess that I often seek God as a means of accomplishing my to-do list or a means of fixing the things that are broken in my life!  Instead of coming to Him to BE in His presence, I’m there just asking for help accomplishing things on my own.  I can get caught up in focusing on issues rather than on Him!  It’s so backwards!!

Check out verses 27-29 in the Amplified Bible:

Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy-laden and overburdened, and I will cause you to rest. [I will ease and relieve and refresh your souls.]

 Take My yoke upon you and learn of Me, for I am gentle (meek) and humble (lowly) in heart, and you will find rest (relief and ease and refreshment and recreation and blessed quiet) for your souls.”

Sounds good, doesn’t it?  I could use more blessed quiet!  🙂  And of course, I need Him and a relationship with Him more than anything I could accomplish on my own.

 

The amazing thing is that this verse came to me twice more yesterday – in a FB status update from Proverbs 31 Ministries and then in a friend’s blog.  (I love it when God shows His persistence!)

 

God’s been taking me on a journey over the last several years – dealing with perfectionism, fear of failure, and faith – and I hope to share more about that soon.  Sometimes these journeys of learning can be winding and long – and I have been struggling to find the right words to explain where I’ve been and how God has revealed himself to me.  But I know it’s a journey I want to share because I know many women struggle with the same feelings of failure.  So come back soon for more!

Leave a Reply

