4 days without the kids!

My husband and I both turn 40 this year.

Our gift to ourselves was a mini-vacation.

We went to the Florida keys and it was really beautiful.  The weather was great and it was so relaxing and refreshing to be without the kids and “just a couple” again!  Since we’ve had kids, we’ve never gone away for that long before and I think we decided we need to make it a priority more often (yes, more often than every 13 years *sigh*).  You don’t really realize how much stress (good and bad) your kids induce in you until you get away for a few days!  And one night away really isn’t enough – we do that probably a couple of times a year but I always feel the pressure to get back home the next day.  And I forgot how nice it is to actually have a conversation without interruption!

My lovely mama was willing to come and stay with my kids and dogs, doing the school routine and everything!  And I think they had fun, too.  I am so thankful for her!

We stayed in Key Largo, at this hotel, and it was a perfect spot.  Highly recommend it for a couples’ getaway, particularly if all you want to do is relax and soak up some sun.  Key West was a 2 1/2 hour drive away – but when you have no kids with you, even a road trip can be fun!  🙂

 

So here’s to more “couple” vacations… I’m already thinking about our next one!  Got any suggestions?

 

 

One thought on “4 days without the kids!

Leave a Reply

