2013

Lamentations 3:22-24

New International Version (NIV)

22 Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,
for his compassions never fail.
23 They are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.
24 I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion;
therefore I will wait for him.”

 

I am so thankful that God’s mercies are new every morning.  God offers me (and you) a fresh start every day – not just on January 1st of a new year!

Looking back over my goals (aka resolutions) for last year, I have to say that I didn’t do a very good job of sticking with them.  So I am going to continue on in 2013 with some of the same ones.  (if at first you don’t succeed blah, blah, blah!)

This year, I want to…

use more of my daily prayer time to listen.

be more disciplined about keeping my home.

spend more one-on-one time with each of my kids.

be more intentional about investing in our marriage (we started this last week by having a lunch date!)

and in general, live more abundantly in Christ (from John 10:10).  What does this mean?  I’m not sure yet – but I do know that I tend to set a lot of limits on myself and my loved ones – limits that are not necessary.  I’d like to do a better job of loving my family more abundantly, serving them more abundantly, and giving time & attention to them more abundantly.

This song, “Live Like That” by Sidewalk Prophets might do a better job of summing that up.

So where are you headed in 2013?

 

 

One thought on “2013

  1. Pingback: Rest | Led By The Shepherd

Leave a Reply

