What are you going to do?

This question started popping up I would say about 6-9 months ago.

“What are you going to do?” with all your free time once the kids are in school?

Inwardly I groan because I feel like there’s always a “right answer” the questioner is looking for.  Not always, but usually.

But unfortunately this is not an easily answered question.  Certainly not one that can be answered quickly in passing.

So I’ve been brainstorming possible answers to try out on people who ask:

I could answer tongue-in-cheek:

I’m going to eat bon-bons and watch daytime soaps.

I’m going to sleep all day.

I’m going to stalk my children by being extra-involved and volunteer for every school event.

I’m going to play on facebook all day (ok, this is getting a little close to home).

I want to answer:

I’m not sure.

I’d like to be more disciplined about getting my house cleaned.

I’d like to get to some of those craft and/or household projects that have been waiting 11 1/2 years.

I’d like to, every once in a while, sit in the morning with a cup of coffee and a good book.

I’m not planning on looking for a job right away because I feel my kids still need me both before and after school.

And I should answer:

I’ll do whatever I feel God leading me to do.

But chances are, if you ask me, I’ll just smile and say enjoy the quiet.

Which I have been.

One thought on “What are you going to do?

Leave a Reply

