more evidence…

When my babies were little, I really didn’t believe those experienced moms who told me to “enjoy this time” because it goes “so fast”!

I couldn’t help but thinking, “What are you talking about, I’m not getting any sleep here!?!”

Well, in my 11 1/2 years of mothering, I guess I’ve just been gathering evidence that, in fact, those moms were right.

Here’s the latest evidence:

My oldest started 6th grade last week, and my youngest started kindergarten.  Major milestones!

And just so my boy doesn’t feel left out – he started 4th grade.  🙂

Who knew the time would go so fast?

Who knew that I would look back on their infancies with such fondness and wistfulness?

Those moms didn’t.  I guess they weren’t crazy after all.

So here’s a poem for all you moms of little ones out there who feel like the long days and sleepless nights are just not passing by fast enough…

Mother, oh Mother, come shake out your cloth,
Empty the dustpan, poison the moth,
Hang out the washing and butter the bread,
Sew on a button and make up a bed.
Where is the mother whose house is so shocking?
She’s up in the nursery, blissfully rocking.

Oh, I’ve grown shiftless as Little Boy Blue
(Lullaby, rockaby, lullaby loo).
Dishes are waiting and bills are past due
(Pat-a-cake, darling, and peek, peekaboo).
The shopping’s not done and there’s nothing for stew
And out in the yard there’s a hullabaloo
But I’m playing Kanga and this is my Roo.
Look! Aren’t her (his) eyes the most wonderful hue?
(Lullaby, rockaby, lullaby loo).

The cleaning and scrubbing will wait till tomorrow,
For children grow up, as I’ve learned to my sorrow.
So quiet down, cobwebs. Dust go to sleep.
I’m rocking my baby and babies don’t keep.

~ Ruth Hulbert Hamilton

So now the irony is not lost on me that I am the one telling those mommas of babies to enjoy the time because it goes by all too fast!  But it really does!

And if you need a visual reminder of this, make your own beautiful wall art printable of the last verse of this poem here.  (Thanks DIY Mommy!)

One thought on “more evidence…

Leave a Reply

