reviving my prayer life

Psalm 1:1-3

1 Blessed is the one
    who does not walk in step with the wicked
or stand in the way that sinners take
    or sit in the company of mockers,
2 but whose delight is in the law of the Lord,
    and who meditates on his law day and night.
3 That person is like a tree planted by streams of water,
    which yields its fruit in season
and whose leaf does not wither—
    whatever they do prospers. 

The grass on our lawn is brown.  And crunchy.  And seriously in need of water.

And frankly, so is my prayer life lately.

Not because I’ve wanted it to be that way.  It’s more of a by-product of our relaxed summer schedule.  Whenever I purpose to sit down and pray, something else comes up (or maybe I should say someone else ) that must be done.right.now.

Ah, such is the life of a mom of more than one child – someone always needs something!

So today I pulled out a brand-new journal (a gift from our MOPS group last year) and started to write out my prayers.

I’ve never listed my prayers before – I think because it just seemed kind of overwhelming.  You know the prayers you say every day – for the health of your family, or safety, or whatever?  Do you list those every day?  Or not?  Do you only list new things, or those things you’ve been praying for years?  See? – too many decisions.  🙂 

Anyways, I thought I’d try it.  I thought it might keep me on track a little better, as well as help me to not forget things.  We’ll see how it goes.  I’m hoping for a little more thriving vibrant green than withering dry brown.

The great news is that when I come to God in prayer, even after a long while away, I don’t have to guiltily hang my head.  He just smiles and says welcome back – I’m glad to see you.  Glorious Grace.

What about you?  Does your prayer life thrive in the summer sun or wither? 

Do you keep track of your prayers in writing?  Why or why not?

 

2 thoughts on “reviving my prayer life

  1. Mine has withered as well. My Devos have been put on the back burner too. Not intentionally, but as a result of the craziness. I have felt the difference for sure. The first place I always feel it is in a discontented feeling toward my life. I have never written prayer, but it sounds like a great idea. I think I’ll try it with you.

  2. Pingback: Tips for Reviving Your Prayer Life | Led By The Shepherd

Leave a Reply

