a snowy day recipe.

Hi people!

I knew we would pay for having so little snow this winter!  And here it is… a significant amount of snow in WNY in late April.

Something about snowy days makes me want to bake.  Anyone else like that, or is it just me?

This is what I want to share with you – my recipe for these:

Oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and craisins.

I am not a huge fan of oatmeal cookies, especially store-bought ones.  For some reason, though, I love these cookies.  They are incredibly soft and chewy and I love that you can change them up adding different ingredients.  This is actually based off of the Quaker’s Best Oatmeal Cookie Recipe, with a couple of changes.

The BEST Oatmeal Cookies

2 1/2 sticks margarine

3/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

3 cups quick-cooking oats

(optional ingredients:  white chocolate chips, craisins, raisins, chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, etc.)

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Soften butter.  Mix butter and sugars.  Add egg and vanilla and mix well.  Add remaining ingredients and mix.  Drop dough from a level tablespoon on a greased cookie sheet.  Bake for 10 minutes.

Happy Snowy Baking Day!

3 thoughts on “a snowy day recipe.

  1. Wow snow!? That is crazy! I guess it did snow once where I live in April too..but it’s just crazy!! Cookies are perfect for snow days..but cookies are good for any day really!

Leave a Reply

