Five Years Old!!!

One of my favorite things to do on my kids’ birthdays is to tell them about the day they were born.  I love it, and they love it.  It brings back so many wonderful memories for me.

My sweet little girl is 5 today.  Here are some pics to remember her “birth” day:

Me about 2 weeks before the big day!

I had a planned C-section but my water broke about a week and a half early.  All in all, Miss A came 3 1/2 weeks before her due date.  My water broke at about 12:30 pm, my hubby arrived home at about 1:30 pm and we left for the hospital immediately.  Dave says it was his favorite car ride ever because he was speeding *just a smidge* in order to get me to the hospital.  Let’s just say it wasn’t my favorite car ride ever.  I think we had to go over every pothole between here and Buffalo!  🙂

Anyways, she arrived about 3 hours later – I ended up having a c-section after I was fully dilated and pushing – with no drugs.  (that was never in the plans!!)

So cute!

The day I was discharged from the hospital, we learned she wouldn’t be coming home with us.  She was diagnosed (eventually!) with thyroid agenesis, which means she was born without a thyroid gland, and with severe reflux which was preventing her from feeding.  She was in intensive care for exactly 6 weeks.

9 days old - when we got the diagnosis

The nurses had put the little pink bow in her hair – isn’t it adorable!!  And she had some wonderful nurses!  I am so thankful for them and still think of them so fondly.  I still exchange Christmas cards with one of them!

Here are some pics from our time in Intensive Care:

A sign from her big sister!

Mama's lookin' worn out.

Dad with his "playoff" beard.

Homecoming Day! Hallelujah!

Finally she came home!  Those six weeks were terribly difficult, but I trusted then that God had a plan for those dark days – and I still believe that!  I wouldn’t change it.

She has brought us so much joy and is doing wonderfully.

I am so thankful for this girl!

 

If you’d like to read more about our time in intensive care, go here or here.

6 thoughts on “Five Years Old!!!

  1. I do the same thing on my children’s birthdays! I think it helps them to know how precious they were to us right from the start.

    Nice post.

  2. Wow — I didn’t know you all went through that! That must have been such a hard time… I’m glad you have a delightful and beautiful 5 year old now!

Leave a Reply

