january thoughts

As you read in my last post, I determined to listen to God more this year.  In other words, continue to have my usual prayer time, but to listen instead of petitioning.  In a practical sense, this meant for me that I would spend one morning doing my usual praying (see here) and the next day I would just spend the time quiet with God. 

I tell you, He does not disappoint.  There are several things that he’s impressed upon me already this year. 

The biggest one is that I want to be more about His Kingdom this year than my own.  I was trying to explain this to a couple of friends last week and I just wasn’t explaining it well.  But when I got home later, this verse of a song went through my head and I realized it totally summed up what I’d been feeling.

“You put me here for a reason
You have a mission for me
You knew my name and You called it
Long before I learned to breathe

Sometimes I feel disappointed
By the way I spend my time
How can I further Your kingdom
When I’m so wrapped up in mine?”

~ Mercy Me “In the Blink of an Eye”

For me, as a stay at home mom, it’s so easy to focus so much on what’s going on in my own home and with my own family (and become overwhelmed by that), that I think I miss opportunities to be God’s hands and feet.

But in 2012 I want to be building His Kingdom, not my own.

Some of this thought process began back in December when I read my friend Esther’s blog post here about pleasing Jesus when we give out of our lack.  And since then, this thought has been rolling around in my head – the thought that I can only be about building God’s Kingdom when I am willing to give out of my lack.

So, I’ve been asking and listening, on alternating mornings.  This morning I knew I would be going to MOPS and I asked God that if there was someone who needed His encouragement, His love, to put them in my path.  Wouldn’t you know He did just that? 

Amazing what happens when you listen and obey.

So I’ll ask again, what do you want your 2012 to be about?

One thought on “january thoughts

  1. Steph I can so relate to your statement about being a stay at home mom and focusing on my own home. I often get stressed because I feel like I get too focused on keeping everything on the home front running smoothly – and what about the Kingdom?! But maybe I’m supposed to be concentrating on the home front? I think that’s one of the things I need to work on this year – finding my purpose and feeling peace about it. Home? MOPS? Church? Work? Missions? These are things I like to give my time to, but am I trying to do too much? Am I involved in the right things so that I’m making a Kingdom difference? Eep – sometimes I can get so stressed just trying to figure this out. I need to work better on my listening to God too. So that I can know where to invest myself.
    Sorry for my rambling comment here. Your post was really good and has got me thinking. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

