Thanks and Giving Giveaway!

With Thanksgiving coming up, I thought I’d have me an itty-bitty giveaway on the old blog!!

This week for some reason I had been thinking a lot about giving thanks to God (maybe thanks to all my friends who are posting what they are thankful for on FB every day for the month of November??).  And I was thinking that when I have a proper attitude of thanksgiving to God, it very often spills over into an attitude of giving to others.  Then I found this verse…

2 Corinthians 2:14

“14 But thanks be to God, who always leads us as captives in Christ’s triumphal procession and uses us to spread the aroma of the knowledge of him everywhere.”

Amazing!  When we are thankful for all that God has given us, we are able to submit to Him and be led by Him – and that in turn glorifies Him to others!  Let’s be so thankful each and every day and may that urge us to give, and may that glorify Christ!! 

So to get started, I want to give away a handmade crocheted shawl to one of you!!

Here are some pics:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And here are some details: 

It is hand-crocheted in Red Heart Symphony yarn – “a worsted weight, brushed acrylic yarn with a soft, mohair look and feel” – in Persimmon.  It is a beautiful fall pumpkin-y color that reminds me of pumpkin pie!!  And it’s soft – so soft!

It is about a women’s size small or medium.  (I wear a large or extra-large and I think it’s a bit small for me!).  It can be machine washed (cold water) and machine dried at low temperature. 

This would make a wonderful gift (for yourself!!??) or someone else!  This is open to anyone who lives in the continental U.S.A. and who follows ledbytheshepherd either through an RSS feed or e-mail subscription (click on the link on the left hand side to follow / subscribe!  If you win, I’ll either mail it to or if you’re local, I’ll drop it off!  If you would like to win this shawl, please leave a comment letting me know if you’d keep it for yourself or give it away (and to whom!).  One entry per person.  I’ll use a random number generator to pick the winner on Sunday evening, November 13th. 

Yay!  I’m excited to see who wins!!

(P.S.  I have to add this.  I had this post written as a draft – and then I read this post this morning.  Amazing.  And powerful.  How thankfulness to God can change us, can help us submit to Him, can turn our selfishness into serving and reaching out to others.  Read it – you’ll be blessed!)

8 thoughts on “Thanks and Giving Giveaway!

  1. Hi, I just found your blog! I’m sure it was for a reason. You are doing a great job.

    If i were to win, I would definitely keep it, its beautiful!

  2. Love this! And love the shawl! So I think I would keep it for myself…. I’m always looking for more warm but stylish items. 🙂 Thanks for your thoughts and your generosity!

  3. The shawl is lovely. I am not sure who I would give it to.
    I might keep it for myself! 😉

    Changed my mind. I’ll give it to Manda’s Cousin! Couldn’t think of a better place for it to go!

  4. I loved this post. As I do so many of yours. I have been incredibly blessed by the thankful November posts on FB. I would love to say that I would give the shall to Manda for her cause, but if I am being honest I LOVE IT! I want to wear it super bad! SO I guess I would keep it. 🙂 Unless of course God lays it on my heart to give it away! 🙂
    Sara

Leave a Reply

