convinced that God is faithful

My devotional this morning:

“When I am afraid, I will trust in you.”  Psalm 56:3

“We work hard to get ahead, do well, and avoid pain.   But our efforts may fail.  Only the compassion of the Lord will never fail.  His faithfulness is monumental, majestic, true and permanently dependable.” 

~ Marie Chapian

This reminded me of my time at the MOPS Convention in August.  This idea – being convinced that God is faithful – was the biggest thing I took away from my time there. 

It doesn’t sound like much.  In fact, any Christ-follower would easily agree that God is faithful.  But if we really think about it, are we actually convinced and do we live like we are convinced??

During our Field Leader training, we focused on Hebrews chapters 10 through 12.  We talked about the Christian life being a race – and choosing to run that race being convinced (first and last) of God’s faithfulness. 

“…let us run with perseverance…”  Hebrews 12:1

” I saw heaven standing open and there before me was a white horse, whose rider is called Faithful and True. With justice he judges and makes war. ”  Revelation 19:11

The metaphor of the Christian life as a race is not new to me, and I’m sure not new to you either.  But the picture of needing to be convinced that God is faithful – at both the beginning of the race and at the end – and He being faithful for all time, until the end of time – was so powerful to me.

I think this is something God had been stirring up in my heart for a while, and it was just strengthened and confirmed through this training.  Instead of getting all caught up in thinking about my own weak faith and how to make it better – I must “fix my eyes on Jesus”, whose faith is always perfect.  Focusing on my own weakness is simply a form of idol (“self”) worship. 

When we are not convinced of God’s faithfulness, we are hindered and entangled by sin (Hebrews 12:1).  The sin of unbelief. 

“See to it, brothers, that none of you has a sinful, unbelieving heart that turns away from the living God.”  Hebrews 3:12

But having the author and perfecter of our faith, Jesus Christ, as our focus helps give us endurance to run the race.  It’s His faith that carries us through!

Sometimes the circumstances of life make it easier to question God’s faithfulness and goodness.  But if we live convinced of his faithfulness – what strength and endurance this would give us in those hard times!  What would we have to be afraid of?  What would we have to worry about?

For if we believe God is truly faithful, we must also believe that he is able to work all things together for the good of those who love him (Romans 8:28).  Amen to that!

This was my one purchase for myself from the convention.  Fitting, don’t you think?

So I put on my necklace today to remind me at all times to run (or in my case, walk is more like it!)- convinced that God is faithful.  How about you?

 

2 thoughts on “convinced that God is faithful

Leave a Reply

