Summer Slow Cooker Recipes

It.Is.So.Hot!

I don’t handle hot well.  I get cranky.  Ask my kids!  (But to be fair, so do they!) And it really doesn’t help that the air conditioner in our van hasn’t been working since May!  By the time we get anywhere, we are all a hot mess.

I do think it’s especially funny that the desktop google-thingy my hubby put on my computer says it’s 88 degrees currently and the high today is going to be 86 degrees.  Huh?

There are only two reasons we are not melting (or having a meltdown) right now – and they are our pool, and our nice, cool, finished basement.  I am soooo thankful for both on these hot days!

Oh – and there’s a third – the slow cooker!  

I love to use my slow cooker in the summer.  Grilling is great, but I get tired of it after a while.  The slow cooker allows me to have more variation in our meals without heating up the kitchen.  And that’s a plus in my book!

So I thought I’d share a few of my family’s favorite slow cooker recipes for the summer (no stews this time of year!!).

Shredded Pork with Beans

3 pound pork loin, cut into 3 large pieces

2 cans black beans, rinsed and drained

1 jar (24 ounce) picante sauce

Monterey jack cheese

Tortillas or rice

Place pork, beans, and picante sauce in slow cooker.  Cover and cook on low for 8 hours.  Shred pork and return to slow cooker.   Can be served either over rice or in tortillas.

 

Beef Brisket

4-5 pound beef brisket

1 tsp salt

1/2 cup ketchup

1/4 cup white vinegar

1 T worcestershire sauce

1 1/2 tsp liquid smoke

1/4 tsp pepper

1 medium onion, finely chopped

Rub beef with salt.  Place in slow cooker.  Mix remaining ingredients and pour over beef.  Cover and cook 8-10 hours on low.

And last, but not least, this is the one I actually have in my Crockpot right now:

 

Chicken and Broccoli Slow Cooker Casserole

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1 tablespoon cornstarch

1 pound boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into 1″ cubes

10 ounces frozen chopped broccoli

1 medium onion

1/2 cup chicken broth

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

4 tablespoons cheez-its, crushed  (this is a perfect use for all the crumbs in the bottom of the bag!)

3 cups cooked white rice

Toss together cornstarch and 1/2 cup cheddar cheese and set aside. Put chicken, broccoli, onion, broth, and 1/4 teaspoon each salt and pepper and cornstarch mixture into slow cooker. Cover and cook on high 3 hours. Remove lid and stir in remaining 1/2 cup cheddar cheese and salt and pepper. Sprinkle crushed crackers over top and serve immediately with rice.

 

I hope you try these and let me know what you think!

And if you have any slow cooker favorites, please share!

 

3 thoughts on “Summer Slow Cooker Recipes

  1. i actually never use my slow cooker – i think because i can never plan ahead enough! i always read recipes and i’m like, c’mon, start doing this! first one sounds yummy! do you think you could replace the pork with chicken?

  2. Hi Manda, I think you could definitely replace the pork with chicken. I have another recipe for BBQ shredded chicken in the crockpot and it called for 4 boneless/skinless chicken breasts. I think you’d probably want to add more than that for this recipe, though. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

