who I am versus how I feel

Read this a couple of nights ago…

Ezekiel 20:44 (The Message)

 “‘But, dear Israel, you’ll also realize that I am God when I respond to you out of who I am, not by what I feel about the evil lives you’ve lived, the corrupt history you’ve compiled. Decree of God, the Master.'”

I just cannot stop thinking about this verse.  Especially with regard to how I respond to my own children.  I am a “react-er”.  I sometimes have a hard time stopping and thinking about how to respond before I do.  This verse just wows me.  It’s not a new concept, but something about it has just caught my attention. 

Instead of reacting to a situation, I can respond out of who I am rather than how I feel.  And when I do, I will reflect the image of God. 

I’ll be thinking about that for a while!

One thought on “who I am versus how I feel

  1. This is a great reminder. I too am a “reacter” and wish I could do better with my kiddos. Thanks for sharing this!

    Also – like the new blog look!!

    Also – I miss you – I feel like it’s a been awhile since we’ve seen each other – other than a wave in the hallway at church while we’re busy herding families!

Leave a Reply

