Disney Tips, Part 3 – Our Favorites and a Word About Perspective

Boy, I am really dragging out these Disney posts, aren’t I?  🙂

{This is the last one, I promise!  To be honest, I’m really mostly just writing this down for myself for future reference – and you’re just along for the ride!!}

If you’re planning a trip to Disney, here is my big take-away for you:  Just because it’s the “happiest place on Earth” and just because you may have had the most wonderful time there on your previous visits – doesn’t mean your kids will agree.  Or cooperate.  Or act happy.

I know – Duh, right?  I guess I should have known that!  But I have always loved Disney.  And I guess I went into it just assuming my kids would have the same experience!  Before we went, I thought I took all the right precautions:

I was careful to make sure they had enough sleep because I know they get cranky when they don’t.

I planned ahead.

I mentally prepared myself for not being able to ride many “big” rides because my kids aren’t thrilled about those.

I mentally prepared myself for having to take it slow, and not being able to do everything!

But what I forgot is that they are there own little people, and the stress of being away from home can magnify people’s “issues”.

For example, I know my son does not like new things.  I even had acknowledged this before the trip because I knew he was a little nervous about flying for the first time.  But I didn’t anticipate that his anxiety about new experiences would continue once we got there.  This is WDW for goodness sake, he’s going to love it, right?!!  But in reality, this trip was such a new and intimidating experience that he had a really tough time with it for the first half of the trip.  Not that he didn’t have fun – now he keeps asking when we can go back!  But he was cranky beyond all get-out those first few days and was defiant about doing anything other than getting characters’ autographs!  And it made it tough.

So – bottom line – think about your children’s personalities and be realistic.  Their quirks are not going to go away just because it’s WDW!

And just for your info – here is our “Best of” List (Remember, we had a 9, a 7, and a 3 year old!  So we didn’t ride a lot of the “big rides”!):

Rides / Attractions:

  • Magic Kingdom:  Peter Pan’s flight for the kids.  Great ride… but get a fastpass.  Also for the kids – you can’t skip Dumbo, Aladdin’s Magic Carpet, the Mad Tea Party and It’s a Small World.  The Jungle Cruise is also a classic.  One of my personal favorites – that is really dated and I’m not sure, I might be the only person who enjoys it -but I love the Carousel of Progress!  Pirates of the Caribbean, Splash Mountain, and Thunder Mtn. Railroad for older kids (fastpass recommended!).  The Hall of Presidents was great for my oldest, but the littlest ones would have been bored.  And don’t miss the Celebrate a Dream Come True Parade and the Electrical Parade and the Wishes Nighttime Spectacular.
  • Epcot:  Turtle Talk with Crush.  I was blown away by this attraction.  How do they do it??  I don’t know, but it is so cool.  Spaceship Earth and Living with the Land rides are also favorites here.
  • Animal Kingdom:  Kilimanjaro Safari.  The Boneyard for little ones.  And the Nemo show was awesome.
  • Hollywood Studios:  Honey I Shrunk the Kids Movie Set (a.k.a. – “the bug playground”), The Voyage of the Little Mermaid, Pixar Pals Countdown to Fun Parade, and Dave really enjoyed the Lights, Motors, Action Extreme Stunt Show.

Food:

  • Epcot:  Sunshine Seasons food court at “The Land” (wonderful variety that will please the whole family), Werther’s Karamell Küche in Germany (may I suggest the chocolate covered strawberries?).
  • Animal Kingdom:  Flame Tree BBQ  (great ribs!).
  • Hollywood Studios:  get a coffee and try a muffin at the Writer’s Stop (nice & quiet little place!).
  • We also really enjoyed the food courts at both the Disney’s Port Orleans Riverside AND French Quarter resorts (both have lots of choices available).
  • And DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT miss getting a mickey mouse shaped, chocolate covered ice cream treat that are available throughout the parks:

 

 

Want to hear more?  Don’t forget to read:

Disney Tips, Part 2:  The Parks

Disney Tips, Part 1:  Generic Travel Planning Tips

 

One thought on “Disney Tips, Part 3 – Our Favorites and a Word About Perspective

  1. Pingback: For the Disney fans… (the rest of you can ignore it!) | Led By The Shepherd

Leave a Reply

