a week in review and a new year of mothering…

This past week has been a crazy one!  It involved a certain fourth grader’s science fair, work on Wednesday, hosting a MOPs Coordinator’s Brunch on Thursday, playdates on Friday, and then, of course, Mother’s Day weekend.

I am blessed.

First off, the brunch.  What a privilege it is to know these women!  Our church has three existing MOPS groups and a fourth one starting in the fall.  These coordinators are women who love God, who desire to serve Him when and where He asks them to, and who have a heart for bringing other moms to a relationship with Jesus.  As a past MOPS coordinator, I know that at this time of year, you start getting a little burnt out – it’s hard work!!  So the brunch was just a time for them to connect with one another, relax, and feel appreciated for all their hard work!

Ladies, You Shine!!

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Then, Mother’s Day was really quite wonderful this year!  I got exactly what I wanted – ha! – to do “nothing”.  (which to me, means just spend time at home with my family!)

On Saturday I took my mom out to lunch and then we went shopping together for a few minutes at JC Penney’s.  It was nice to spend some time with her without the kids around!  She is really the best and I am so thankful for her.  She even offered to take the kids back to her house so Dave and I could go out for dinner together.  That was a lovely surprise, and much appreciated.

Mother's Day 2011

Sunday morning, I was awoken by kids with happy smiles and bright eyes.  Breakfast in bed, made by Dave and the oldest… who is becoming more and more proficient in the kitchen.  Won’t be long until she can do it herself!  Climbing up in bed, watching me patiently, but excitedly, eat the eggs, sausage and toast offered as a gift to mom.  Me wishing I could stop time and see those faces happy and smiling (…and not bickering…) all the time!  Presents made at school, now presented in paper gift bags laden with homemade drawings.  Handmade cards drawn by little hands.  So precious.  Church.  Sunny skies and warmer weather, a gift in itself after a spring dominated by snow, cold, and gloomy skies.  Time spent outdoors playing, working together, enjoying.  Steaks grilled and dishes done by the man who said “I do” so long ago!

I couldn’t have asked for a better Mother’s Day!  I am so thankful for this family that God has given me!

If you’ve been reading my blog for any length of time, you know I deal with some depression occasionally.  God has been making it clear to me that my thoughts / self-talk play a big part in that.  So I had gone into the weekend, determined to enjoy my family and enjoy where we’re at right now.  That is often difficult for my analytical mind that assesses, identifies flaws, and starts immediately to plan how we could improve.  But part of my enjoyment may simply have been because I had read these two posts last week, about humility in mothering and allowing God to lead, and then about always thinking there will be more time.  I am, if you couldn’t tell already by all my links to her blog, a huge fan of Ann Voskamp’s writing.  These posts just put me in the right frame of mind to go into this weekend, and I appreciate it so much.  Attitude is everything!!

And so we start another week, another year of mothering.  I simply want to allow myself to be led by God fully in my mothering this year.  To find peace and joy in Him.  To be fully invested in the present. 

Please, Father God, help me!

So what about you… have you any thoughts / goals for this “new year” of mothering?

3 thoughts on “a week in review and a new year of mothering…

  1. Stephanie,
    I praise God for how you are feeling right now. One of the things that I love about the Psalms is that it allows us to go from the heights of praise to the depths of despair -always seeing God’s presence in both circumstances.
    I loved the MOPS Coordinator’s brunch – thank you for still being involved in MOPS.
    Has anyone ever asked you to be a Mentor – I think you would be a great one.

    Hope you are feeling well…

Leave a Reply

