the things of men

Two and a half billion people around the world were estimated to tune in to watch the royal wedding today.

I didn’t.  I have to say that I’m just not that interested in it. 

(Please know that this post is not meant to put down anyone that did.) 

A couple of days ago I read this article from a publication from my alma mater.  THIS is what I cannot stop thinking about.

http://www.sph.umich.edu/news_events/findings/spring11/rights/congo.htm

It is horrifying and heartbreaking at the same time.

I find myself thinking about it over and over… and my response so far has only been to humbly thank God that I am so blessed to have been born in the United States where I don’t have to worry on a daily basis about my own safety or the safety of my children. 

Women and girls – young girls – brutally raped as part of war.  As a mother of young girls, this hits home.

How is it that our society can spend time, and certainly all sorts of money, being preoccupied with the royal wedding, but not with this?

I may not have been preoccupied with the royal wedding, but I’m definitely guilty of burying my head in the sand when it comes to things like this.  Being preoccupied with anything in my own little private world is easier, less scary, less burden on my own heart.

But thisThis has caught my heart and for some reason God won’t let me forget about it.  This verse came to mind:

Matthew 16:23 (New King James Version)

 But He [Jesus] turned and said to Peter, “Get behind Me, Satan! You are an offense to Me, for you are not mindful of the things of God, but the things of men.”

I imagine Jesus’ heart is with those women and girls in the Congo.  Although I know He cares about each and every person, including royalty, I’m pretty sure He’s not spending any time thinking about what dress Kate Middleton wore this morning.

So this is my prayer today:  Lord, let my heart be aligned with yours.  Let me be mindful of the things of God.  Don’t let me be preoccupied with the things of men.  Thank you for the blessings you’ve poured out on me so lavishly.  But don’t let me use that as an excuse to focus on me and not on the needy and hurting people in the world.  Show me how you want me to get involved .  Amen.

 

2 thoughts on “the things of men

  1. Oh Steph, this breaks my heart. It is horrifying. I know I will continue to think about this, and pray about this. What can we do? Thanks for brining this to our attention. I’m going to to be praying what my part in stopping this can be.

    • I’ve been searching the web over the weekend to find a Christian relief / mission organization who is working in the Congo. Haven’t had much luck yet. Thinking about contacting Samaritan’s purse directly. Will keep you updated!
      Steph

Leave a Reply

