Truth

I want to share some lyrics to a new song they’ve been playing on the radio lately.  I just can’t get enough of it!  It’s called “I Am New” by Jason Gray.

Lately God’s been reminding me over and over again of the importance of thinking about, “whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy” (Philippians 4:8).  And not just thinking about, but focusing on it.  And not just focusing on it, but deliberately steering my thoughts away from things that are not truth and instead thinking about the truth found in God’s Word.  This is most difficult for me when I’m thinking about myself – so often my thoughts are negative.  So this song has been helpful to me in focusing on how God sees me instead.

Here are the lyrics:

Now I won’t deny
The worst you could say about me
But I’m not defined
By mistakes that I’ve made
Because God says of me

I am not who I was, I’m being remade
I am new
I am chosen and holy and I’m dearly loved
I am new

Too long have I lived in the shadows of shame
Believing that there was no way I could change
But the one who is making everything new
Doesn’t see me the way that I do
Who I thought I was
And who I thought I had to be
I had to give them both up
Cause neither were willing
To ever believe

CHORUS
I am not who I was, I’m being remade
I am new
Dead to my sin, I’m coming alive
I am new

Forgiven, beloved, Hidden in Christ
Made in the image of the Giver of Life
Righteous and holy, reborn and remade
Accepted and worthy, this is our new name
This is who we are now

If you’d like to listen to the song, I noticed that there are some video versions of it on YouTube. 

I encourage you to really think about these words – especially the last part of the song.  These are all truths from the Bible.  If you have accepted Christ as your savior,  

YOU are forgiven.

YOU are beloved.

YOU are hidden in Christ.

YOU are made in the image of God.

YOU are righteous and holy.

YOU are reborn and remade.

YOU are accepted and worthy.

How’s that for encouragement?

One thought on “Truth

  1. Thanks friend for this reminder, His truth, and this song. I love it too:)
    At Sunday school we were discussing how long and sometimes messy our walk with the Lord can be. Our teacher said something that was encouraging to me, “I’m not right where I want to be yet, but I’m farther from where I used to be!” I loved that and rejoiced that God loves us the same…each step of the way.
    Will miss you tonight, enjoy your family time:)

Leave a Reply

