*mercy*

Three days ago I was thinking while in the shower, “my next facebook status should be about my biggest pet peeve lately – people who put on a show for others to make themselves look better.  Get real or go home, that’s my motto.”  Then I thought, “wow, I really need to work on being more merciful.”

(Random thought for the shower, huh?  I really don’t know why I was thinking that, but I was.)

Anyways, two days ago I took a couple of spiritual gifts tests on-line, just for fun.

(See, this post here?  you are getting a glimpse inside my exciting, exciting life.)

Guess what I scored the lowest on.  Really, guess.

MERCY

Mercy came in dead last.

What’s the weirdest part about all this? 

K-love has been encouraging listeners to come up with a word for 2011.  A word that symbolizes what you want to focus on this year. 

And I had been thinking about mercy as my word.

Coincidence?  I think not.

p.s. – just in case you want to see what your spiritual gifts are… here are links to the tests I took:

http://www.churchgrowth.org/cgi-cg/gifts.cgi?intro=1

and

http://www.kodachrome.org/spiritgift/

I liked the first one better, but I felt they were both pretty accurate.  The second one you can print out and score manually, if you like, and it also has a page for definitions.

5 thoughts on “*mercy*

  1. Your pet peeve is a good one. It’s not about mercy, which you should have, it’s about holding people to account for themselves. I too hate it when someone either tries to be something that they are not or is a pretender. There is nothing wrong with wanting people to be real and I tell you why. It’s a matter of trust. When you see a person putting on those false representations to others doesn’t it make you not trust them. In our minds is the thought that if they are that way with others are they that way with me as well? If I can’t trust someone to be themselves then how can I have a relationship with them? I can, but it will be one based on a lie and what kind of a relationship is that?

    • Thanks for visiting and for your comment, Grandpa! I think you’re right – it comes down to wondering whether or not you can trust that the person is who they say they are.

      Have a great day and I hope you’ll come back!
      Stephanie

  2. My lowest scored area is evangelism, and my highest (three of the same score) were exhortation, showing mercy, and administration. I feel like that is pretty accurate, and what they wrote explaining each quality really made sense to me.

    • Hi Pamela,
      Your three highest seem pretty accurate for you, I think! I find it pretty interesting. The question for me is how will God use my gifts (and my knowledge of what those gifts are!). I just realized I didn’t say what my highest scored areas were – Pastor/Shepherd and Administration were tied at number one and then exhortation and teaching following close behind. I think he can still ask us to serve in areas where we may not be naturally gifted, if it serves His purposes! And I was also thinking about the fact that some are actually commanded of us, regardless of whether or not we’re gifted (e.g., Mercy – in Micah 6:8 “He has shown you, O mortal, what is good. And what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.”) So I guess I don’t have any excuses!
      Have a great weekend! I’ve been praying for you guys!

  3. I think you will do well with your word. I must admit that I checked on the one sight for taking the test. It opened up and said something like 183 questions??!!!! WHAT? I had good intentions, but not the time. I think I have also found my word and it has been coming to me over and over. That tells me it needs to be my word. Heather

Leave a Reply

