Tomatoes Three Ways

I have so much to do today (including cleaning up the usual weekend “tornado” that is my house right now!).  I’ve also got peach and apple pies to make and homemade spaghetti sauce!  But, as usual, I’ll use blogging as a way to procrastinate!

I have had an overabundance of tomatoes in my garden this year.  I bought 4 plants from Home Depot – two were supposed to be cherry tomatoes and two regular tomatoes – but they all ended up being regular sized tomatoes.  So I’ve been trying to find different ways to use them up.  Here are three yummy ones I’ve found…

Grilled Fresh Tomato & Mozzarella Sandwiches

If you haven’t tried fresh mozzarella cheese, you’re missing out!  And paired with a fresh tomato from the garden… it’s like heaven!  These sandwiches are so simple – white bread (I haven’t bought white bread in YEARS, but it was good here!), a slice of fresh mozzarella, a slice of tomato, and some fresh basil from the garden.  I used a cookie cutter to cut the bread into circles that matched the round cheese & tomato slices (clever, huh?  Actually I saw it in a magazine somewhere – ha!).  Slather on some butter and prepare like a normal grilled cheese (except that since the cheese is thick, you’ll want to cook on low heat, longer, so the cheese melts a bit.)  Yum.

Oven Roasted Tomatoes

Just for something different, I’ve tried oven-roasting the tomatoes.  Core and cut them in slices (small tomatoes you can quarter, but larger ones I’d cut into about sixths).  Spray a cookie sheet, then place your tomatoes on there with the skin sides down.  Drizzle olive oil and then sprinkle some salt, pepper, and fresh garlic on the top.  Bake at 325 degrees for about 3 hours – or just till the edges start to blacken.  These are sooo good right out of the oven, but you can use them in so many ways.  I put a few on a tortilla with roasted red pepper hummus for lunch – it was divine!!  I’ve also chopped them and put them into homemade salsa and homemade spaghetti sauce to add flavor.  You can also put them in a food processor and chop / blend them into a tomato paste.

Homemade Spaghetti Sauce

I got this recipe online here.  And it was sooo yummy.  I didn’t add the zucchini or mushrooms because I knew my kids wouldn’t like it, but it was good all the same.  Today I’ll be making a double batch, and I’ll be adding some of my oven-roasted tomato paste, so that I can use up tomatoes and freeze some for later. 

Well, I’d better get cracking!!  As much as I wish it would, my house doesn’t clean itself! 

I still have lots of tomatoes, so if you have any good recipes, please share!

2 thoughts on “Tomatoes Three Ways

  1. Oh these look yummy!!! I LOVE fresh mozarella! It’s the BEST!

    Thank you so much for the comment on my blog! I didn’t know there was software you could purchase! That is great because I love to cook and since my daughter was diagnosed I haven’t been able to be as creative in my cooking as I used to be.

    My daughter is 4 and was diagnosed 17 months ago at the age of 3. It has been difficult but blogging has really helped and I have met some wonderful ladies because of it.

    Heather@sweet2thesoul

Leave a Reply

