Yippee, yippee ~ the First Day of School!

Today was the first day of school.  Fourth grade and second grade.  We had a wonderfully smooth morning – mostly because everyone was so excited they got up early! 

One of our traditions is to take a picture of the kids in the same place every year so we can visually see how much they’ve grown.  It’s kind of a neat way to capture their growth in their scrapbooks. 

The kids both had a great day and are very pleased with their teachers and their classrooms.  I am, too.  I continue to be thankful that we are blessed to be able to send them to a Christian school.  The school has a first day tradition, too – chapel first thing in the morning to which the parents are invited.  I love it.  To know that the kids (above and beyond our own prayers in the car before school) hear God’s Word at school and are prayed over by the faculty and staff is wonderful.

Our other traditions (of course) involve food.  Are you surprised??

Breakfast of cinnamon swirl bread, toasted with butter…

Yummy, yum, yum, yum!

And after-school snack of these monster sugar cookie pencils…

I experimented this year with colors other than yellow (mostly because I had run out of yellow food dye ~ but I saved the day by mixing some frosting with a teeny bit of yellow writing icing I had leftover from another project).  But, I don’t think the pencils looked as good as last year with different colors!!  Oh, well… they still tasted good!

Come back soon for the recipes ~ I’ll be posting them in a day or two!  Both the bread and the sugar cookies are to die for!  And I don’t even like sugar cookies!

But onto something even more important.  I’ve been feeling lately like I want to have some goals for the kids as far as building their character over the school year… not just feeding their minds (and tummies)!  I think this verse sums up what I’d like to work on with them…

Philippians 2:1-4 (The Message)

“If you’ve gotten anything at all out of following Christ, if his love has made any difference in your life, if being in a community of the Spirit means anything to you, if you have a heart, if you care— then do me a favor: Agree with each other, love each other, be deep-spirited friends. Don’t push your way to the front; don’t sweet-talk your way to the top. Put yourself aside, and help others get ahead. Don’t be obsessed with getting your own advantage. Forget yourselves long enough to lend a helping hand.”

These are exactly the character qualities I’d like to see them build – not only with people outside our family, but with each other!  I’m not sure exactly what tactics I’ll be using… pray for me!… but at least I have a direction and a place to start. 

Do you have any verses that are guiding you or your parenting as we start this new school year?

One thought on “Yippee, yippee ~ the First Day of School!

  1. Pingback: Recipes: Sugar Cookies / Cinnamon Swirl Bread « Ledbytheshepherd’s weblog

Leave a Reply

