Who Knew?

Ha!  I’ve been joking around recently with friends that I have what I called summer seasonal affective disorder.  I tend to get depressed during the summer rather than the winter.  I was perusing the web today and here’s what I found…

http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/seasonal-affective-disorder/DS00195/DSECTION=symptoms

There actually IS a reverse seasonal affective disorder!  Who knew?

But it really doesn’t sound like me – I have more of the symptoms of the regular SAD during the summer.  Especially the hopelessness, lack of energy, tendency to eat more, and social withdrawal.  I guess I’m just unique!!

The first summer or two of depression, I wondered if it was just increased stress due to having the kids around 24/7.  But now I see, really, that there’s more of a pattern here for me.  The stress might be part of it, but not the whole reason.  I’ve been trying to take some time away from the kids the past couple of weekends, but I really don’t seem to be any more refreshed when I come back.  So I’m looking for other things to help.  I can think of a whole bunch of things that I could try that “should” help, like exercise, but I don’t have the energy to do them!  Isn’t that pathetic?  It may be time for more counseling, I guess. 

Are there any of you out there who seem to get depressed during the summer rather than the winter??  Any suggestions for me?

One verse that keeps coming to my mind is Acts 3:19 “Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord.”  Not sure what He’s trying to tell me.  I do have regular time set aside for prayer and bible reading, but maybe more is needed right now?  Maybe more of my free time should be spent with Him rather than watching TV or facebook?  I guess that’d be a good start!

Leave a Reply

