Just What I Needed Today

From Edith Schaeffer’s Affliction :

We grow in our understanding through difficulties, as God opens to us that which we could not have understood with any other background or in any other set of circumstances.  Our assurance as children of the Living God is that He is able to bring beauty from ashes and to give the “oil of joy” for the spirit of mourning (see Isaiah 61:3).  And, in addition, He refines, purifies, proves, and causes to grow in us something very precious and lasting in our attitudes toward Him and in our actions to other human beings.  As He removed the hedge protecting Job (or any one of us…) he is also able to give us the grace to come through the onslaught that follows.  However, there is much more than just “coming through,” still hanging on to our trust and love of God.  There is a “coming through,” with a shinier, more gleaming sheen on our surface.  We have the possibility during the hard time to have skimmed off more of the specks and scum which are hindering the more beautiful reality of love, joy, peace, long-suffering, and meekness.

I am so thankful for my God who offers me:

strength when I am weak

Psalm 46:1 ~ God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. 

comfort when I am hurting

Matthew 5:4 ~ Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.

peace when I am anxious

John 14:27 ~ Peace I leave with you;  my peace I give you.  I do not give to you as the world gives.  Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

and hope when I feel like giving up.

Psalm 62:5 ~ Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him.

2 thoughts on “Just What I Needed Today

  1. Hey Steph —
    I wasn’t sure how to email you, so I’ll just respond here I guess!
    Thanks for your comment about my blog books… I do highly recommend making them (they’re easier and cheaper than scrapbooking, in my opinion!). I used a company called Blurb (that’s their web site name) and I’ve been very happy with it. The process is quite easy — you just tell the software your blog address and it pulls in all the posts and then you can format how you like from there.

    Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

