Immanuel

I’ve been reading the book, “The Practice of the Presence of God” by Brother Lawrence.  I’m not finished with it yet – it can be a bit of a struggle because of the language and deep concepts.  But I have been particularly enjoying it because of the timing – reading it during the Christmas season when we celebrate Jesus’ birth – Immanuel – God with us. 

The main premise of the book is to guide one into learning how to pray continually, and to apply our each and every thought and action to God.  God is with us, and it seems to me that applying myself to Him like the book encourages is the best way to remain in Him (John 15:5).

There are a couple of quotes from the book that I wanted to share with you…

“…we ought not to be weary of doing little things for the love of God, who regards not the greatness of the work, but the love with which it is performed.”

“…in order to form a habit of conversing with God continually, and referring all we do to Him, we must first apply to Him with some diligence;  but that after a little care we should find His love inwardly excite us to it without any difficulty.”

“…We must, nevertheless, always work at it [practicing God’s presence], because not to advance in the spiritual life is to go back.”

At this time of year when I am thinking about New Year’s resolutions, this last quote is meaningful to me.  How can I grow spiritually this year?  How can I apply myself diligently to continual prayer?  How can I be a good steward of this life – my body, my time, my talents – that God has given me?

I’ll share a couple of my resolutions with you… losing weight (of course) in order to be a good manager of my body, doing weekly devotions with our whole family, and cutting back on computer time in order to be a good manager of my time and our household. 

I pray that you have a blessed year and that you are also seeking to advance in your spiritual life!  Have you made any resolutions to help you do this?  Please share!

Leave a Reply

