TTAH Tuesday – Plant a Garden

I am in no way an experienced gardener.  In fact, this year I planted my first “real” vegetable garden.  (And by real, I mean a garden that has more than one plant and is planted in the actual ground and not in a container.  This is the first summer I’ve had the space for it.)   

But I have quickly come to love my vegetable garden.  So here are my top 5 reasons for vegetable gardening…

(1)  The weeds.  Seriously.  Now I understand why the Bible compares sins to weeds.  I get it.

(2)  Yummy fresh vegetables.  We planted tomatoes (roma and cherry), green peppers, zucchini, and beets.  I know, it’s small-scale.  But I’m hoping for a bigger garden next year!

(3)  A way to put your kids to work (and teach them something at the same time).

(4)  Exercise.  Kind of.

(5)  Photo ops…

 

The first zucchini!

The first zucchini!

P.S. – if you don’t have enough land for a veggie garden, how about an herb garden?

Our herbs...

Our herbs...

2 thoughts on “TTAH Tuesday – Plant a Garden

  1. Way to go on the garden! I do not have a green thumb at all. Luckily, Mike steps up so we can have some veggies in the summer. (And my neighbors sell lots!) I want an herb garden though.

Leave a Reply

