Why are we moms always wishing the time away??

I was talking to some friends yesterday about kid’s milestones  – and how we look forward to the next step so much.  You know – crawling, walking, feeding themselves, talking, etcetera and etcetera.

It occurred to me that I spend a lot of time waiting for that next milestone… for my youngest right now it’s talking. 

But I also realized, from being through this with two other kids, that once it happens, there will be times that I look back on “now” and wish we were here again.

I’ll give you an example… when my firstborn was about two months old, someone at church told me “these are the best times – enjoy them!”  I thought this woman was crazy.  I wasn’t getting any sleep! (and I likes me some sleep!)  I was desperately wishing for my baby to sleep through the night!!  But now I know exactly what that woman meant.  When I look back on that time, it is so precious. 

So why is it so hard to live in the present?  To fully enjoy each day without wishing for the next?

I like to think I’m a little better at it with my third child than I was with the first.  That perspective of knowing how fast 0 – 8 goes is priceless.  But I still want to be better at living in the moment.  Lord, help me!!

I’m going to try to use this verse – John 10:10 – to remind myself that Jesus intends us to live fully.  Which I take to mean living fully in the “present” that He gives us.

John 10:10

“…I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.”

What about you… do you have any tips to help me live fully in the present?

3 thoughts on “Why are we moms always wishing the time away??

  1. i really liked this blog, because as i sit here waiting for my baby not even to reach a milestone, other than to be born. I want to meet him so bad, but it was refreshing to read this and really reflect on taking in this wonderful time of being preg. still enjoying “my own life” and just feeling him grow and develop inside me. Its somthing i think a lot about, i want to meet him, hold him and love him from the outside, but yet at the same time i want to be able to then put him back till later, haha. Awesome post!!

  2. Steph, your words are great! I have a journal for Paige. One day when she can understand it, I will give it to her. I remember writing one day that though I love seeing her accomplish and achieve new things and move to a new stage/area of her life, I miss the last one—such as the babbling stage, crawling to walking, you know them all. God has a plan for all of us, we all go through “stages” and as we grow closer to Him it becomes clear. I love the verse and next time I think we/she is moving into another area, I will cherish the last and help with the next. I find it to be true with my relationship with my husband as well…..I would write more, but I hear crying—-

  3. Hi Kelley! Glad to see you here, and thanks for your kind words about my post!

    Yes, pregnancy is a tough time to “enjoy” because of the great excitement you have about meeting that little one! How wonderful for you that you’ve thought about the need to enjoy it nevertheless! I loved being pregnant and look back on those days so fondly.

    God Bless you & your little one… hope to see you back here again!

Leave a Reply

