an update…

Hi friends!  Those of you who know me, know that I hate talking on the phone.   So here’s my lame attempt at letting you all know what’s going on…

Monday morning as I was getting the kids ready for school, I had really severe chest pain.  Dave had already left for work and I was really scared and didn’t know what to do.  I didn’t know what they’d do with the kids if I called an ambulance, and I really felt I couldn’t wait for anyone to come over to watch them.  So we got in the car as fast as possible and I drove to school.  I was in such pain – I just prayed all the way there that God would get us there safely.  The kids were very upset – they knew something was wrong – and I hadn’t packed their lunches or even gotten Ally dressed.  And to top it all off it was Lyndsay’s 8th birthday!!  So… as I drove in the parking lot, the principal and her husband, the pastor of the church, were walking into the school.  I pulled over and told them I needed help getting to the ER – they quickly got all the kids out, took them in – and Pastor drove me to the ER.  

To make a long story short, the ER docs were concerned (as I was) that there was something wrong with my heart.  They gave me meds to take the pain away and it worked after a while (thank God).  They transferred me to Mercy Hospital.  At Mercy they did all sorts of tests.  Bottom line, there’s nothing wrong with my heart or lungs.  (again, thank God!)

So I’m home now.  I’m supposed to be resting for a couple of days, which I am.  I’m only doing the minimum and conserving energy for dropping off / picking up kids from school. 

But I’m still concerned since we really don’t know what happened to me on Monday.  The hospital felt that they’d ruled out all the “acute” and “major” things that could have been wrong, but not knowing what it was makes me nervous.  What if it happens again?? 

So I’m following up with my primary care physician on Friday to pursue other causes.  Please pray that what I experienced Monday doesn’t happen again and that we can pinpoint a cause and treatment soon.  It was really traumatic for the kids, as you can imagine, so I’d really not like a repeat! 

Thank you to all of you who have been praying, and especially those of you who picked up the slack when it came to mops!  I so appreciate the support that all of you give me!  I’ll update more when I learn anything new…

7 thoughts on “an update…

  1. Stephanie,
    How scary for you and your family. I am so glad that the Lord had His people in place for you. In 2001, I had a very similar scare and they were sure that it was a heart attack because of the diabetes – but it wasn’t and I never knew what it was. But once they know that you have diabetes, the red flags go up.
    Take care of yourself and rest in the Lord.

    Sandra Joseph

  2. i’ve been praying like crazy for you since i heard. thanks for giving us the update. i will continue to pray for you. and please let me know what else i can do for you. i’m here to help in any way. lots of love, blessings and rest to you this week.

  3. Wow Steph, that’s very scary. I’m so grateful that you’re ok, and will be praying both that the doctors figure out what happened and that it doesn’t happen again. Rest up!

  4. I have been wondering how you are doing. Glad you’re home and taking it easy, and mostly that there’s nothing ‘acute’ or ‘major’ wrong.

Leave a Reply

