Imagining…

2 Corinthians 10:5

“We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.”

Today I’m wishing my mind worked a little more like the judges on American Idol.  Seriously.

I have a lot of thoughts that probably shouldn’t make the cut.  Ones that I need to “actively demolish” or “take captive”.  Maybe you do, too.

So here’s why I’m thinking my mind should work more like an Idol audition.  Imagine it.

First of all, if the person really stinks, the judges don’t let them linger.  There are thoughts that cross my mind that shouldn’t be allowed to linger.  I should (figuratively) raise my hand and make it stop.  Jealousy, resentment, feeling sorry for myself, just to name a few.

Second, the judges are discerning.  They’re professionals – if someone stinks, they know it.  I need to be sure to spend time in God’s word to become a professional – to know clearly what would glorify Him and what wouldn’t.  Lots of things are black and white.  But the gray areas are where I need that discernment. 

And lastly, they’re honest.  Sometimes painfully.  How many times have I told myself what I’m thinking is not bad – maybe it’s justified, or other people feel that way, so why can’t I?  I need to be brutally honest with myself regarding the quality of my thoughts.

I know it’s a little silly to compare my mind to an American Idol audition, but I do think we need to consider how to keep our thoughts under control.  The direction of our thoughts is so important to our spiritual health.  Some verses that support this:

Romans 12:1-2  “Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.”

James 1:13-15  “When tempted, no one should say, ‘God is tempting me.’  For God cannot be tempted by evil, nor does he tempt anyone;  but each one is tempted when, by his own evil desire, he is dragged away and enticed.  Then, after desire has conceived, it gives birth to sin;  and sin, when it is full-grown, gives birth to death.”

Philippians 4:8  “Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable – if anything is excellent or praiseworthy – think about such things.”

Anyone else out there seeking to control your thoughts?  How do you go about it?

Leave a Reply

