TTAH Tuesday – Thanksgiving Hits

Okay, I’m finally back to blogging after all the excitement of Thanksgiving.  The family all came here – so last week was a flurry of cleaning and cooking.  And just in case you were wondering, “Thanksgiving Hits” refers to really great food, not fist fights at the dinner table (or anywhere else)!

I only host Thanksgiving about once every three years or so.  Not really enough to get good at it.  The one thing I’ve never perfected (until this year!) is the stuffing.  Too soggy, not spicy enough, whatever. 

I think I’ve told you before that I’m a tried and true recipe follower.  In the past, this was my mistake with my stuffing.  I tried to do what my mom and sister do – just wing it with minimal guidelines- and the results were less than fabulous.  So this year I stuck to my strengths – following a recipe.  And the stuffing was a hit.  So just in case any of you are also stuffing-challenged, I thought I’d share the recipe.  I’m also including a recipe for candied yams, which are to die for.  Thanksgiving is not the same without them.  So try these recipes and let me know what you think!  I hope you’ll enjoy them!

Walnut Mushroom Stuffing

1/2 pound sliced fresh mushrooms

1 medium onion, chopped

3/4 cup butter

2 teaspoons sage

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon ground thyme

1/2 teaspoon marjoram

1/4 teaspoon pepper

12 cups cubed day-old bread

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

1/2 – 1 cup chicken broth

Saute mushrooms and onion in butter until tender.  Stir in the sage, salt, thyme, marjoram, and pepper.  Transfer to a large bowl.  Add the bread cubes, walnuts, and enough broth to reach desired moistness.  (If you’re stuffing a turkey, use less broth!!!)  Toss to coat.  Spoon into a greased 2-qt. baking dish.  Cover and bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.  Uncover; bake 10-15 minutes longer or until lightly browned. 

** note that I made a double batch for a 21 pound turkey and it still wasn’t quite enough – we could have used more.

Candied Yams

1 cup packed brown sugar

1/4 cup butter or margarine

1/4 cup water

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 cooked yams

Place first four ingredients in an electric skillet and cook until bubbly.  Add yams and heat through.

Leave a Reply

