New Words and Other Important Stuff

It’s been a while since I blogged, so I thought I’d just give you a rundown of what’s going on around here.  Here’s what I’ve learned in the past week or so.

  1. A “woofer” in kindergarten speak means a “hot” boy.  Just ask my son’s friend Emilee, who told him he looked like one in the shirt and tie he wore to school last week.
  2. Facebook is kind of like junior high.  (i.e. – Will that person invite me to be their friend??  What if they don’t – does that mean they don’t like me?)  I’m starting to wonder if the point is just to see who can get the most friends.  Or maybe it’s to waste time playing pathwords (guilty!).  And what about people level-jumping on our IRL friendship?  People from high school or college who didn’t speak to you then now want to be your friend?  What’s up with that?  Oh, I forgot – the people with the most friends win.
  3. If you want your husband to put up the Christmas lights outside, then let him go to the store and pick them out.  That way there’s no one to blame when things go bad.
  4. Put the frozen turkey in the fridge to thaw a day earlier than “they” say to, and cook it for at least two hours more than “they” say.  Who are “they”, you ask?  www.butterball.com
  5. Kids respond better to positivity than to negativity.  Someone recently recommended a book to me – “Transforming The Difficult Child, The Nurtured Heart Approach” (available at www.difficultchild.com)  I’ve read it and am trying to apply the principles.  The premise is that parents of difficult children need to be energetic and focused on what your children do right and address, but not “energize” their negative behavior.  It’s working.  But it’s hard.  I’m finding that focusing on and reacting in a big way to the bad stuff rather than the good stuff just comes naturally.  And for a difficult child, the reaction is what they’re looking for.  So I keep trying to change what I’m reacting to.  Pray for me!
  6. Trying to keep the calendar straight for the month of December is a challenge.  There’s so much going on!  This year I’m trying to schedule in days of rest – with nothing planned – in order to create a sane environment for all of us.  I’ll let you know how it goes!

So that’s what’s up around here.  Comments / suggestions are always welcomed and appreciated. 🙂

One thought on “New Words and Other Important Stuff

  1. haa…that is so great about a “woofer”. i’ll have to tell mike that i think he’s a woofer!

    i feel the same way about december being so busy. every year i try to have all my shopping done earlier and gifts wrapped so that i can feel like i have down-time just to enjoy the season. it’s so hard to accomplish though! kinda ironic that we have to put “do nothing” on our “to-do” lists.

Leave a Reply

