Attention Type 1 Diabetics : Need some feedback here!

I am still amazed that my blog post about 25 years with diabetes was one of my most-read posts.  But I think that there are a lot of diabetics out there that are looking for feedback, encouragement, and information from someone other than their doctors, nutritionists, or diabetes educators.  Someone who actually HAS diabetes.  I know I am!

So today I’m looking for some feedback.  If you haven’t been here before, I am a type 1 diabetic (diagnosed 25 years ago at age 10).  I use an insulin pump.  I have three children, ages 7, 5, and 1.  I have a busy life.

My last HBA1C reading was higher than it has been in probably 8 years.  I faithfully check my BG (4-5 times/day).  But I don’t spend much more time on it – I feel like I don’t have the time to analyze my BG readings adequately, and then make changes and analyze the effect of those changes.  Lately I’ve been using the Minimed online software to do this, but I’ve only been doing it about once every 6 months (before an endo appt.).  I know, it’s not enough.  I’m curious about how others manage this.  So would you share with me the answers to the following:

  1. Do you use some type of software to analyze trends, etc.?
  2. How often do you actually take a look at your trends, analyze them (i.e., decide if basal rates or carb ratios need to be adjusted), and then make the appropriate changes?
  3. If you make changes, do you go back and analyze the affect of those changes?
  4. Do you do most of this on your own or on the advice of your doctor?

Thanks for your help, fellow diabetics!  I appreciate it!

2 thoughts on “Attention Type 1 Diabetics : Need some feedback here!

  1. Stephanie,
    I totally understand your frustration. Even when it seems that you do everything correctly for diabetes – it is never “good enough”. Your Doctor never says you are doing a great job and you never get to take a day off. I am so thankful that one day I will experience life without this chronic illness or hooked up to a pump!! Oh, what a day that will be!!

    To answer your questions…
    1. I do not use the software except for when they download my informaton off of my moniter at my Doctors every 4 months. I do keep track of it by hand when I know it is off.
    2. Like I mentioned above, I will start writing everything down when I know that my blood sugars have been too high/low several times. Then I will track about 3-6 days in a row and make my appropriate after I see what is going on.
    3. I probably do not analyze after I make changes as long as everything is going better.
    4. I make my own decisions and will contact the Doctor if I can’t handle it on my own.

    It is time for me to get a new pump (I have been on one since 1993) and I am looking at the continous monitering — I looked at it several years ago when it first came out, but my insurance wasn’t going to cover it at that point. I will let you know if I get it.

    Not sure if my answers are helpful – the best I probably can do is to let you know that I totally understand!! You have had some stress lately with your move and a little one in school – stress is a killer on blood sugars. I know this all too well!

    Contact me anytime…
    Sandy
    http://www.sandrajo.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

