Survival Mode

I just found a brilliant article at the MOPS website.  And in reading it, I realized that I am in mommy survival mode.  All.  The.  Time. 

In other words, I tend to do what I can just to make it through the day.  Not really enjoying it, but just surviving.  Are you stuck in this mode, too?  I think when it comes down to it, it’s not really my circumstances, it’s just my attitude.

If that’s where you’re at, read this article.

Then pick one of those things that you’ll do this week in order to enjoy life instead of surviving it.

Last night our kids were watching Veggie Tales “The Pirates Who Don’t Do Anything”.  One of the characters asked the other, “You have a good life, don’t you?” and the other character replied, “Yes, it was good on that one day from about 2 to 2:30.”

I don’t want to live like this.  I want to enjoy what God has blessed me with.  And I’m starting today!

2 thoughts on “Survival Mode

  1. What an excellence post. As a Mom of 3 daughters (2 already grown and 1 almost) — once again I tell you that it goes by so fast. You blink and they are yelling “Watch me Mommy” and you blink again and they are waving from the yellow school bus and you blink again and you are in their college dorm room making the bed where they will sleep. Day by day mothering is hard – but you have to look for those recognizable moments to remember when the season is past!
    I hope you find some moments every day this week and from here on out.

Leave a Reply

