The Answers God Gives

It’s so amazing how God answers prayer.  Last week I posted about my desire for contentment and my struggle with the urge to buy more, more, and more.  (You can read the full post here.)  I wrote in that post, “Today I’m thinking about how I can store up treasure for myself in heaven – how I can focus my energy on the eternal rather than the temporal.  How I can re-train myself to focus on glorifying God rather than feeding my own selfishness.”

I was trying to brainstorm specific things I could do to become more content with what I have and to fill myself up with the things of God rather than the things of this world.  I prayed that God would help me figure it out.

Two nights ago in my Bible reading I read these verses:

1 Timothy 6:17-19

“Command those who are rich with things of this world not to be proud.  Tell them to hope in God, not in their uncertain riches.  God richly gives us everything to enjoy.  Tell the rich people to do good, to be rich in doing good deeds, to be generous and ready to share.  By doing that, they will be saving a treasure for themselves as a strong foundation for the future.  Then they will be able to have the life that is true life.”

The fact is, we in America are rich.  And God answered my prayer by giving me a specific checklist to follow:

Am I doing good?

Am I rich in doing good deeds?

Am I generous?

Am I ready to share?

These are the ways I will store up treasures in heaven.  This is how I want to live. 

Thank you God for such a specific answer to prayer!  How has God answered your prayers this week?

2 thoughts on “The Answers God Gives

  1. I’ve been asking God to help me show love to my husband. One day this week I walked into the kitchen to find a monstrous looking vegetation that resembled a gigantic broccoli stalk about 3 feet long with miniature cabbages all over it… brussel sprouts fresh from the farmers market. My “what da?” expression quickly spread across my face. Then I could see somewhat hurt feelings expression surfacing on Sean’s face. God helped me to lasso in my reaction, suck it up, and graciously tackle the project with a chuckle. He helped me to be grateful for my brussel sprout bouqette.

Leave a Reply

