My $70 Sweater

When I was in high school, I pined after a $70 sweater I saw at the mall.  I had to have that sweater.

I had a job, so I saved my money and after a while I bought it.  You know, at Barbara Moss or some store like that.  (I’m dating myself, aren’t I?) 

(As an aside, believe me that my now Salvation Army thrift-store-loving-self is appalled that I actually spent that much on a sweater.  What was I thinking?)

OK, back to the story… After I wore it a few times, the threads started to unravel.  The colors started to dull after several washings.  After a while, the sweater was no longer “in-style”.  My $70 sweater was replaced with another “$70 sweater” that I couldn’t live without.

Don’t we all have “$70 sweaters”?  Things we desire deeply and then when we get them we realize they don’t fully satisfy our desire?

These days my “$70 sweater” is more like a $400 patio set.  I really, really, really want it.  It’s even on clearance right now.  But I know if I buy it I’ll feel guilty about spending that money on something I don’t really NEED.  And I know, deep down, that once I get it, there will be something else I really, really, really want. 

So I’m resisting the urge to buy.  In the bible in Matthew 6:19-21, Jesus said, “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal.  But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.  For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

I’m resisting the urge to store up treasure for myself here on earth.  Resisting the urge to set my heart on things that break, that go out of style, that are temporal.  It’s not easy to do in today’s culture. 

Today I’m thinking about how I can store up treasure for myself in heaven – how I can focus my energy on the eternal rather than the temporal.  How I can re-train myself to focus on glorifying God rather than feeding my own selfishness. 

What’s your “$70 sweater” story?

p.s. – Sorry I didn’t post a try-this-at-home-Tuesday tip this week!  I’ll be back to it next week!

3 thoughts on “My $70 Sweater

  1. I think that your Tuesday tip is this… resist the urge to buy what you don’t need. I just posted a similar centiment… stop by and post a comment:)

  2. Mel-
    Yep, I guess there was a tip in my post, wasn’t there?

    It’s so hard to resist that urge. For me, particularly when the world’s message of “you deserve it!” keeps bombarding me.

    You, too?

Leave a Reply

