Is your marriage fireproofed?

This past Saturday was our 11th anniversary.  We celebrated by going out to dinner and a movie.  (It may not seem like a big deal to you, but it is to us – the last movie we saw together at the movie theatre was The Passion of the Christ!)

Anyways, Dave planned our “date” and picked the movie – “Fireproof” with Kirk Cameron.  It was a total chick flick, but it was great.  It was a perfect anniversary movie – to remind each of us of the committment we made to each other and to God 11 years ago. 

I am so blessed to have Dave.  We are best friends and we, for the most part, get along well together.  Even when we don’t see eye to eye, I think we do a pretty good job of loving each other in spite of the difference of opinion.

The movie definitely gave me a lot to think about…

  • Have I totally surrendered my life to Christ and as a result do I put my husband’s needs ahead of my own on a daily basis (read Philippians Ch. 2)?  Do I do this joyfully?
  • Do I continue to practice acts of kindness to my husband on a daily basis?
  • Do I hold back my words when what I want to say is not helpful or kind?
  • Have I made a committment to my husband to love him (in thoughts and in actions) even when I think he may not “deserve it”?

I would definitely suggest this movie for any couple – no matter where your marriage is at.  It was totally encouraging and inspirational. 

There is a website associated with the movie and it’s worth checking out:

www.fireproofyourmarriage.com

It includes lots of resources for couples who want to invest in their marriage and make it the best it can possibly be.

Check it out and have a great day!

3 thoughts on “Is your marriage fireproofed?

  1. Pingback: Is your marriage fireproofed? | jdTVu

Leave a Reply

