TTAH Tuesday – Shopping for Bargains

OK, readers, if you haven’t ever done it…

go shopping at a Salvation Army, Goodwill, or Volunteers of America.

If you’re seriously into saving some money, then you seriously need to go bargain shopping at one of these places.

I know, I know.  It takes some time to get used to the idea of wearing someone else’s clothes – especially a someone you don’t know.  The first time I went to Salvation Army, I wasn’t sure I could do it.  But that was a lot of years ago, when I was accustomed to frivolously spending money and to put it bluntly, I was kind of snobby.

But these days one of my huge priorities is being able to be at home with my kids.  And that takes sacrifices, or if you prefer, cutting back somewhere.   So if you’re ready to save some serious bucks, try it out.  (If the germ thing bothers you, you can always run home and dump the clothes in the washer and wash them as much as you like.)

This morning I shopped at Goodwill in a neighboring town (one closer to the “big city”).  The prices there were a bit more expensive than our hometown Salvation Army, but the clothes were also a little bit nicer.

I got 5 brand-name shirts and 1 sweater – all like new – for $30.  Some Eddie Bauer, NY & Co., etc., and close enough to the latest styles for my taste.  I just cannot justify paying full price for clothes anymore, not when you can get them in just about perfect condition for so cheap!  And I know our local Salvation Army also has a half price day – so you can get even more savings! 

So take the plunge and get hooked on bargain shopping.  Your budget will love you for it!

Leave a Reply

