TTAH Tuesday – Daily Prayer

Sorry I kept you waiting so long for this post that I promised you last week

I am discovering that daily prayer is vital to my emotional and spiritual health.  And I don’t mean the “Lord, help me”, 2-second variety (although that’s certainly better than nothing.)

I’m talking about having a set time where I sit down and specifically purpose to talk to God for some length of time.  I’ve posted before about how I keep my focus, and you can read that here.  But today I want to encourage you to make daily prayer a priority in your life.

My day typically starts early – I get up before the kids, shower, get myself some coffee (this is critical) and breakfast and then get comfy on the couch to pray.  This works really well during the school year.  However, over the summer I didn’t do this.  I felt like I needed a “break” and so I slept until the kids woke me.  The consequence of this was that I had seldom had any uninterrupted prayer time over the summer.  I had weeks where I didn’t pray at all (except for in church on Sundays).  And I know my emotional and spiritual health suffered from it.  I was prone to weeks (no, not just days) of discouragement.  I was, frankly, hard to get along with.  I struggled with being patient and loving with my children.  My poor family!  And I attribute it, at least some of it, to my inconsistent prayer life. 

Let’s look at some verses:

Colossians 4:2 “Devote yourselves to prayer…”

Philippians 4:6-7  “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.”

Matthew 6:11 “Give us today our daily bread…”

Lamentations 3:22-23 “Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail.  They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.”

Isaiah 33:6 “He will be the sure foundation for your times, a rich store of salvation and wisdom and knowledge.”

God is my firm foundation – my stability in a life that can become difficult overnight.  Even in the Lord’s prayer, Jesus tells us to ask daily for what we need.  And I know every day I need God’s mercy – a mercy that never ends and is fresh for me every morning.  How can I not set aside time in my day to speak to Him who offers me a rich store of wisdom and knowledge??

So I challenge you to start a new habit – set aside time dailyfor prayer.  And believe me, I know all the excuses because I’ve used them myself.  Like I’m not a morning person, or I need my sleep, or there’s just not time.  But I ask you to set aside those excuses for one week and block out time to talk to the creator of the heavens and earth – and the one anchor we have in this crazy life. 

I’ll leave you with one of my favorite quotes:

“I was reminded of the profound truth that prayer isn’t something I had to do, rather, prayer is something I get to do.  I get to bring to God every worry and concern that is on my heart today.” ~ Hope MacDonald

Leave a Reply

