A little bible study, anyone?

Our MOPS theme this year is called the Adventures of Mothering, and the theme verse is Ephesians 3:18.

Our first MOPS meeting is a week from today, and in preparation God has laid it on my heart to read and meditate on this verse every day this week. 

Ephesians 3:14-21

For this reason I kneel before the Father, from whom his whole family in heaven and on earth derives its name. I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.”

I thought maybe you might like to join with me in meditating on this verse this week (especially my MOPS friends!).  Please be sure to come back and comment on what you’re learning from this verse.

Thanks, friends!

4 thoughts on “A little bible study, anyone?

  1. Pingback: Bible in the News

  2. Pingback: Bible study

  3. I have read this passage repeatedly and I’m having a hard time letting it sink in. That’s why I haven’t commented. It’s so meaty!

    I’m not sure what “For this reason” is connected to even when I try to go back and read the verses before it.

    What does it mean to be strengthened with power through the Spirit? SO that Christ may dwell?

    What does it mean to be rooted and established in love?

    Being FILLED with the fullness of God….. being filled with GOD’S love. If we could be full like that we could stop searching to be filled with the things that won’t satisfy us.

    Almost seems impossible…but it goes on to say that he can do immeasurably more than we can ask or imagine.

  4. Mel,
    Yes, I agree – there’s a lot to these verses. I also went backwards in the text to see what the “for this reason” referred to. I’m thinking Paul was saying that because he was “to preach to the Gentiles the unsearchable riches of Christ” (v8), and because he felt that he could “approach God with freedom and confidence” (v12), then for this reason he was going to pray to God the prayer contained in vv14-19.

    My takeaways from meditating on this verse this week:
    – God’s spirit in our inner being gives us power
    – When I hear “rooted and established”, I think of an anchor. “God is love” 1 John 4:8, so being rooted and established in love is knowing that God is my anchor. And to be able to hold firm to Him as my anchor, I need to know Him. To know Him, I need to be in His word and communicating with Him regularly in prayer.
    – Verse 19 I’m still thinking about. How is it possible to “know this love that surpasses knowledge”? If it surpasses knowledge, how could we ever know it?
    – and being “filled to the measure of all the fullness of God” – this reminds me of a story I heard about several natural lakes in Hawaii that are on the side of a mountain. The top one is filled by a spring, then when it’s full it spills over into the next one down the mountain, and so on. If God can fill me with the knowledge of His love, then that love can spill over to others. But I need to be “full” of His love first before I can pass it along.

    That’s what I’ve been chewing on. I’d love to hear what everyone else thinks!

Leave a Reply

