feeling old

For many years now, I have continued to think of myself as just out of college and starting out in life.  Well, I turned 35 this year and I’ve realized now that I’m just kidding myself.

Here’s 5 things that have been making me feel older recently:

  1. We went to a wedding a month or so ago.  This was the first wedding we’d been to where our friends were not the ones getting married – they were the parents of the bride!!
  2. The Olympics.  If I’d started having kids earlier, many of the youngest olympians could be my own children!
  3. My daughter’s 2nd grade teacher is younger than me.  Way younger.
  4. We were watching some news about the republican party, and the reporter was interviewing people to determine if the younger generation of republicans felt out of touch with John McCain because of his age (or vice versa).  My first thought was “That’s ridiculous – I don’t feel out of touch with his campaign.”  And then it hit me that I probably don’t exactly fall into the demographic they were talking about.
  5. And last but not least, there was a time when I thought my mom’s lack of bladder control when sneezing was funny.  Let’s just say I don’t think it’s too funny anymore.

So, needless to say, I’m not going to go around with a false view of myself anymore.  I am a 35 year old woman who loves God and loves her awesome family and I’m proud of it!

Even cooler than that is the fact that this verse was in my devotional reading last night, after I’d been thinking about the subject of this post all day.  Sometimes it amazes me how God knows and cares about every little detail of our lives, and is willing to speak to us about it if we’re listening:

2 Corinthians 4:16-18

“So we do not give up.  Our physical body is becoming older and weaker, but our spirit inside us is made new every day.  We have small troubles for a while now, but they are helping us gain an eternal glory that is much greater than the troubles.  We set our eyes not on what we see but on what we cannot see.  What we see will last only a short time, but what we cannot see will last forever.”

So it doesn’t really matter that I’m feeling older.  What matters is the fact that I have been set free from my sins and have the hope of eternal life through Jesus Christ.  He renews my spirit day by day when I’m faithful in praying and studying the Bible.  And He’s got work for me to do while I’m here (Ephesians 2:10) – and that’s a great reason to forget about how I’m feeling!

How are you feeling today??

3 thoughts on “feeling old

  1. I love Ephesians. It’s like a big letter of encouragement. And how am I feeling today? I have no idea, actually. I chopped peppers and onions and garlic and tomatoes for salsa pretty much all day long. I feel mind-numbed?

Leave a Reply

